Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was SO EASY and super yummy! I made this for my monthly "Supper Swap" club that I belong to with 5 other mom friends of mine who also have little ones and busy schedules. I made 8 pans so I halved the recipe and made it in 8x8 pans. I used apples from my apple tree in our backyard and also used the Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread and used 1/2 milk and decided to go on a whim and substitute sugar free French Vanilla creamer for the other half milk it called for. I baked it fo 90 min and it turned out great!!! We did top ours with a Mrs Butterworths sugar free syrup (like you would a traditional french toast.) Next time just for the heck of it I would like to try it using the apple pie filling and texas toastjust to see the diffence but I loved how it turned out and using my own apples...they're FREE! This one is a keeper though I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
The flavor was delicous. I love sweet so it worked for me, although it was soggy and i cooked it for the full amount of time. Maybe because i could only fit 12 slices of bread, and i used the full amount of egg. But it still tasted good soggy or not, although i wish it had a little crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Decided to make this at the last minute today for brunch and it was delicious, even without preparing it last night. Besides not putting it together the night before, I also cut the recipe in half. It was delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Only 1 can of apples is key. I also use cinnamon raisin bread instead of plain white. Always the 1st dish gone at an open house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! It made the house smell wonderful! I was only able to use eight pieces of bread and one can of apples but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I was only able to squeeze in 9 pieces of bread, but I used thicker, cinnamon swirled bread. I made it for a large group during a vacation,and it got rave reviews. I will definitely make it again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Rave reviews from my entire family, who scarfed this down at our family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this yesterday for our church's annual Father's Day breakfast. We made 3 batches per full steam pan. Afterwards, everyone was commenting how delicious this was and wanted the recipe. It was a real hit. We did not however let this sit overnight. We let it sit for about 30 minutes with no trouble. Also, we could not broil the maple syrup at the end, we just drizzled it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this for a group of friends at the beach. It was a hit. I made it with 2day old Italian Bread sliced 1 inch thick. Used enough to pack bread in tight. I recommend using a larger pan as it bubbled over and I lost a lot of the yummy gooey stuff on the bottom. Did not use the syrup and it was still quite sweet enough for everyone with the sugary apples oozing down the pieces of french toast! Must cook it for at least 90 minutes until knife comes out clean. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was SO good! I scaled down the recipe and actually made it for dinner one night. I used no sugar added apple pie filling as well as sugar free maple syrup and it turned out really yummy. It's been requested again since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States