Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The only thing I thought would be improved with this recipe, was to cut down on the sugar used. I have a sweet tooth, but this was even a little much for me. Next time I will make my own apple mixture (cooking them in butter, a touch of sugar and cinnamon) instead of the pie filling - which I thought added a lot of sugar and also made the texture of the apples softer than what I would've liked. I think overall, it is a good recipe though. I will make minor adjustments for our tastes and use the recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is delicious. Made it for a mother's day brunch and it was gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was just "ok." It served the purpose of feeding a lot of people with minimal prep, but I didn't feel as WOWed as most of the reviewers. It was kind of sloppy and just tasted like warmed up pie filling over bread. Not my favorite, but it gets points for being convenient and serving a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very,very good,and so easy! I could not put in 20 slices, maybe 16, and I really pushed the bread down. I like the idea of trying it with raisin bread next time,and also using my own apple pie filling. I did have to bake it a little longer, but not much, because I let it sit out for an hour before baking it, and did take the foil off the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a keeper! I made my own apple fillling which enhanced the apple flavor! LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was absolutley amazing. I strongly recommend that you don't use the apple pie filling, though. Use fresh, chopped apples. I used about five macintoshes for a half-recipe and I think that's one of the reasons this turned out so good. It made it healthier, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I didnt get but a bite! A few of us race and go out to the desert quite often for events. We do breakfast casseroles on Sat morning as a buffet. WOW this was the first to go and everyone is still raving. They ask me to make this EVERY race lol. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Needs to bake a bit longer than directions say, but the taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
the IDEA is great. the RECIPE ISN'T. it requires too much tweeking. it simply doesn't fit in the pan for starters. I reduced it and it still overflowed. The cook time is alllll wrong... if someone could purge this recipe out of the site and put in an amended one, it would be a 4 or 5 star breakfast. But the way it is right now I feel all of you have been way to generous with the stars...aside from the overflowing and the extra cook time... the thing tasted great. note... next time i would definitely use fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wading River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. I made it with raisin bread like other suggested. I left out the maple syrup part because I didn't have any. It was perfect without it. I think the syrup would have made it too sweet. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States