Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe looked really fantastic to me--easy to make, ideal for a busy morning b/c you do everything the night before but cook it, and I love apples so that addition to French toast was right up my alley. When I prepared this, I thought two cans of apples seemed like a lot but one didn't exactly cover the pan so I used two. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon bread and that was a great addition. It wasn't 20 slices but whatever was in a loaf completely filled my glass 9x13 to the brim (two layers of bread). Too bad I didn't account for the expanding bread when it baked and I ended up with a mess in my oven because the juices bubbled up and over. Be sure to use a taller 9x13 if you can, or put a baking sheet under to catch the overflow. It still baked through and looked great. Unfortunately, it was way too sweet, and I'm a big fan of sugar, my friends. So for me to think it's so sweet it was almost inedible is something. Because I loved the cinnamon/apple combo, I'll give this another whirl but will use thinly sliced fresh apples. The brown sugar/butter in the bottom of the pan will be plenty to sweeten those up to what I hope will be an ideal level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was great; although I did make a few changes. I used 1/2 cup butter and also added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the sugar mixture. I spread this on the bottom of an 9x13 dish. I then added thinly sliced apples all over this versus using the pie filling. I mixed the egg mixture as written but added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice to this as well. I used thinly sliced challah bread and dipped it in the egg mixture. I ended up with two layers of this and poured the little bit of egg on top. I sprayed the foil and in the fridge it went overnight. Straight in the oven for 60 minutes covered and then uncovered the last 10. I cooled for 5 minutes and flipped it over as I plated it. It was plenty sweet without the apple pie filling and no maple syrup either (almost too sweet). Everyone gobbled it up. I like that you can literally just throw it in the over straight from the fridge in the morning versus having to sit out like other morning casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this for a family brunch and it was a HUGE hit with the kids!!! I think they loved it because of the gooey sweetness!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I didn't have canned pie filling, so sauteed some sliced apples in a bit of maple syrup & butter... I used raisin bread & added some chunks of cream cheese in one layer. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
tasted very good but took forever to cook. 90 minutes plus sitting in a warm oven while we had a meeting. Made in a foil pan, not sure if that made it take longer. Used a combination of breads we had - artisan sourdough and cinnamon raisin. Used one can pie filling and about 2 C of thawed unsweetened frozen apple slices - plenty sweet. Agree with some others that this is way too much butter and brown sugar in the bottom. served it right out of the pan and everyone loved it. Not sure it would have held its shape if I had turned it over on the cookie sheet. Will make some changes and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this for Easter Brunch and it flew out of the casserole dish to OMG's this is so good and Yummo's! It was a great! I used Pepperidge Farms Cinnamon Swirl bread but that's the only thing I changed and it was fantastic! My grandchildren loved it and I'll be making it again and again! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dssantaniello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Good, but I agree with the reviewers who say this is almost too sweet for breakfast. It tastes more like a dessert. I used cherry pie filling since that is what I had and toasted a cinnamon swirl bread so the bread wouldn't be soggy. This worked perfectly, but I don't think the syrup or the sugar and butter mixture is necessary--unless you use fresh fruit, in which case, the bottom sugar and butter mixture would be nice. I did make sure to press the bread down into the pie filling and used tin foil on the bottom and sprayed it generously. Glad I did--some of the bread was sticking to the tinfoil. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
i used 4 eggs and 2 cups milk bc i don't like eggy french toast, and it was incredible! yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made 2 glass pans (9 x 13) last night using 1 french loaf in each pan cut in large cubes. I used unpeeled cored sliced apples with honey and butter with a sprinkle of cinnamon for the bottom of one pan and the other I did the same to the apples except I added dried cranberries. yummmy...In the egg mixture, I put eggs, 1/2 & 1/2 cream, vanilla, cinnamon and 1 tbsp of sugar.I put bread cubes in a bowl a little at a time and poured the egg mixture over it then put it loosely on top of the apple mixture then sprinkled a tsp of sugar on the top. This morning, the family and son's friend thought it was chronic (awesome)! ;) I will definitely make this again because it is prepared all the night before then in the morning you only have to pop it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for my Christmas brunch and it was very good! Instead of using apple pie filling I sliced 4/5 smaller apples and just used that. Came out excellent with less sugar. I also used apple oat honey bread from Wegmans instead of white bread and it was great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkgramlich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States