Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This tasted wonderful, but I was disappointed in the presentation. Probably my error, but it kind of "splatted" out, and didn't hold it's shape. I used fresh apples and cut back on the syrup. Perhaps I'll try again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spannfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Living In: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This recipe was great!!! I did a double layer of bread, and it worked out great. There were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This was very good and easy. I will try fresh apples next time and more cinnamon but its really good they way it is. I just want to see if there is a difference using freash apples vs canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I had high hopes for this one. Instead of pouring the egg mixture of the bread, I dipped each piece and then placed it over the apples. I discarded the remaining egg mixture in an attempt to keep my bread from turning soggy. I removed the foil the last 15 minutes of baking and then broiled it for as long as possible without it burning. The apple mixture tasted great. The top of the bread was nice and crunchy, but again the rest of the bread was mushy. This is my 3rd French Toast casserole to try. I'm giving up and sticking to the old fashioned way of making french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is sooo good! I made this for a breakfast party at work. Everyone loved it! I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 1/2 cans of the apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Excellent Christmas morning treat! My substitutions - fresh sliced apples lightly fried in butter and cinnamon instead of pie filling; a thin layer of maple butter instead of drizzled syrup and baguette slices instead of sandwich bread. Worked out well. Next time I'll soak each piece of bread first and pour the remaining egg mixture to avoid the bottom layers being too saturated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Excellent Recipe! A little too sweet for our liking, but would make again and cut back on the sugar/syrup as well as only using one can of apple pie filling and combining that with fresh cut apples. Definitely use a deep 9x13 pan or lasagna dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
SO GOOD! SERVED FOR XMAS BRUNCH AND EVERYONE SAID IT WAS A "KEEPER" AND MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States