Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
YUM!!! Made this for a brunch and all of my guests went back for seconds. Used only 1 can of no sugar added apple pie filling and 12 slices of bread in a 9x13 pan. All other ingredients as listed. Wonderful addition to a brunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
We enjoyed this last Christmas --Made it Christmas Eve to bake while opening presents. On the sweet side try to lite apple pie filling or fresh tart apples. Leave uncovered for last 10 minutes or more to crisp up. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J9HALSEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Elma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Very good, but turns out a little flat. I used pieces of french bread instead of slices and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was delicious!! All I got was raves. I changed the servings to 18 - used a 11X15 dish. I did not increase the brown sugar, in fact, I barely put in 1 cup. Also, I kept the apples at 2 cans. This was not too sweet. I think one of the secrets to this recipe is to make sure it is cooked long enough. I put it in for 75 minutes, covered. Came out moist, not soggy. I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Slater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I chose it because, unlike many of the other "make ahead" french toast recipes, it truly was 100% ready to go in the morning. Just pop it in the oven. When I made it I used one can of apples, and made sure it was apples and water only--no high fructose corn syrup--to keep the recipe from being over-the-top sweet. The apples turned out so delicious, next time I probably will use two cans. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon raisin bread, and baked for 90 minutes. Everything else I kept exactly the same. I used a cake pan and had no problems with it boiling over. I didn't turn it upside down, and I thought it made a very nice presentation "as is" with the cinnamon swirl bread. The bread wasn't incredibly crispy, as pan fried French toast can be, but it certainly wasn't gooey either. I think using a slightly more substantial bread, like Italian or the cinnamon swirl, instead of white or French, makes a big difference. I made it for a brunch for 11 people, and everyone absolutely raved about it. It was so incredibly simple--15 minutes the night before and you're done. This will definitely become a staple in my house. Thanks for a real keeper! Note: I made this again and didn't bake it as long. Yuck! Make sure you bake it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
this recipe was disgusting. the bread was soggy and the entire meal was way too sweet. i don't know what all the hoopla is about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
It was a little soggy but the taste is fabulous. I cut the recipe in half, and did 12 slices of bread in 2- 9 X 13 pans. Very gooey. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gray Granter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
It was good but I found it too sweet. If I was to make it again, I would either skip the butter, sugar, etc step or else I would just use apples (i.e., not pie filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
The idea is delicious. When I make it, I cut up fresh apples and layer them over the butter/cinnamon mixture. I also leave out the syrup at the end. My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Very good and easy. I did change some of the ingredients, 3/4 C brown sugar, 4 eggs, 1C milk, 6 pieces of pepperidge farm cinnamon bread and only 1 can of apples. My family loved it! We added some whipped cream for the top. Definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States