Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had 30 guests for brunch; everyone asked for the recipe. I used challah bread cubed; if I hadn't, the break wouldn't have soaked up enough of the batter. I soaked the cubes in the milk and egg mixture until they were soft. They absorbed it very well. I sprayed a metal large casserole pan very well with olive oil spray. It did not stick at all. It looked georgous when it came out of the oven. I baked it for 60 minutes as I live at 6500 ft. I did cut it in squares turning it over to the apple side on a decorative platter. My guests devoured it. I shall surely make this again, as will my many guests who took the recipe. Yetta from Albuquerque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very tasty. Halved the recipe and next time would definately use fresh apples not canned. But it was a great breakfast to just pop in the oven for Easter Morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annmarie
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this for Easter breakfast and everyone loved it. I used the amish white bread from this site (reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup), one can of apple pie filling and eggbeaters. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
A little too sweet and soggy. I wish I would have broiled longer on low because we liked the crunchy edges. The second time I made this and halved it. Used less than 1/2 cup of butter and less sugar. Cooked longer. Good, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this for my husband and my 2 year old and it turned out great! I reduced the recipe to a 9x9 pan since there were only 3 (2 1/2 really) of us and it was still more than enough. I also substitued soy milk for the regular milk because my daughter is allergic to milk and I could not taste a difference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great recipe!! This has become part of our annual Christmas brunch. The only changes I made were to use fresh apples and raisins. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I thought this was a bit too sweet. I did use Challah bread so it came out very light. I found it to be like a sweet bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was so good and so easy! I made this for a Christmas Day brunch - prepared them xmas eve, and they were a big hit! I had to split the recipe in half and put in 2 smaller pans. I used 3 eggs and 1 cup of milk; I think I'd increase this next time. Having said all this, I'm making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I rated this a 3 based on appearance. I think I followed the recipe exactly, but even after letting it rest for at least 10 minutes, the topping stuck to the pan and the dish just looked awful. A generous sprinkle of powdered sugar took care of that, and it was very tasty. Don't know if I'd try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome!!!! Such a treat and not hard to make. I shared this recipe with family & told them how wonderful it was. My husband loved it & so did I!! It was a nice change from Bacon & Eggs and really made a special breakfast. It was good as leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States