Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I really smooshed the bread down to make it all fit before I poured in the egg mixture. I cut down on the sugar and cooked it for 1-1/2 hours to fully cook the middle. I also uncovered it for the last 1/2 hour. This was delicious and very filling. You only need 1/2 piece (a hungry guy can eat a whole piece). I only fit six slices in a 9 x 13 pan, too (I was able to get 4 slices high - barely). A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Gr8eat tasting. I used 7 eggs, Texas toast - which came to about 8 slices, canned milk, and 1 1/2 cans of apple pie filling. The other half of the 2nd can of pie filling was used in an 8x8 dish that I made at the same time. The group that I made it for loved it. The only drawback to the recipe in my opinion, is that it took a full hour and a half to bake. I then drizzled syrup on it and put in under the broiler for about 2 minutes. Will definitely make again, but will keep long baking time in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was actually quite delicious, even though I looked away from the broiler for a split second and it started to burn. I quickly took it out and since it is served inverted it was just fine. This is a very rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
very good and easy to make! A hit with my family over Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good, but unless you want it all over your oven, put a cookie sheet underneath it or use a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used fresh apples instead of a canned pie filling. It was great! I took it to my MOPS meeting and had a request to put it on our Yahoo Group so they could all find it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kay Hagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlered
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was a big hit at my house! I didn't use all of the egg mixture. I used just enough to soak the bread. I used homemade apple pie filling and homemade french bread. Like I said it was a real hit at our house. And mine cooked up perfect in 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlered

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I rarely review recipes but I had to make sure to comment on this. This was awesome! I made it for a football tailgate this morning and everyone LOVED it! I used 1 can of apple pie filling and two fresh apples. Also, I used Texas Toast like a few others mentioned...used 12 pieces, two layers right on top of each other. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very fast and easy dish to prepare. All the ingrediants are usually what one would have stocked in the pantry-The kids enjoyed it but it wasn't one of those dishes that is gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I absolutely loved this french toast. I've never attempted any french toast before, but I don't know that I'll try another! I made it exactly as stated with the exception of halving everything for an 8x8 pan and using the cinnamon swirled bread that someone recommended. I also took everyone's recommendations to bake it the full 75 minutes. My husband and I loved it! I wouldn't change anything. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States