Oven Stew with Burgundy Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Would definitely make this part of my regular recipes....my husband loved it! Tripled the liquid, using both water and wine. Added potatoes and minced garlic. Also mushrooms the last 30 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I read other reviews and added twice the liquid. Unless you like a strong tangy stew, I would not put so much wine in, actually I would possibly put in only half a cup. I replaced the Tyme with a 1/2 tsp of Allspice. I added about 6 to 7 small red potatoes cut in quarters and a few cherry tomatoes. Very easy recipie and would try this again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good flavor. Added an extra 1/2c wine and water, each. Though it didn't completely dry out, there was very little sauce. Added 8oz of sliced mushrooms and 2 potatoes. Used Pinot Noir wine in place of Burgundy. Will double (at least) the fluids next time, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
double the liquid and I found quartered small red potatoes to be excellent in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
would make again, I double the wine and used beef broth instead of water and boliun also doubled. I added potatoes and put everything in crockpot when done took juice and thickend up with cornstarch. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very tasty. Different than your average beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Husband rated a 4, but I'd only give it a 1, so it got a 3. Will not make again. I prefer "traditional" stew better. Left an unpleasant taste in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This came out great. My own touches included carmelizing half the onions, adding 3 large cloves of chopped garlic, using enough additional wine & water to cover the meat, and then thickening it towards the end with 2T flour, but those were only touches -- the basic recipe is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This recipe was delicious and very filling. The meat and vegetables turned out to be extremely tender and yummy. I added a lot more water, so it turned out to be a beef soup rather than thick stew, which was fine - I loved it anyway. I also added 2 tbsp. minced garlic, and more servings of the vegetables. Kept it tightly covered in the oven for 2 1/2 hours....didn't need 4 hrs. A little Texas garlic toast was perfect to go with it. My boyfriend had 2 servings. I would've too if I wasn't so full after the first bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Holy Cow! I don't think I am going to make Beef Stew in the crockpot again. Sooo tasty. I omitted the celery (hubby doesn't like it) doubled the water and wine (used Merlot)added 1 big can of stewed tomatoes, 4 cloves of garlic finely chopped, a half a bag of frozen green beans and 3 reg size potatoes cut up. Cooked it 2 1/2 hours then added some cold water/cornstarch mixture to thicken it up a little bit and cooked another 1/2 hour. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States