Oven Stew II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just took it out of the oven and boy does this house smell wonderful! I pretty much followed the recipe but followed some other reviewers' advice about a couple of things. I mixed the onion soup with the water before pouring it in the pan and I increased the water by 1/4 cup. I added salt and pepper to the flour. I omitted the green peas and added a couple of extra potatos. Totally delicious! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Although browning the meat on the stove top still develops the best flavor, this high-heat oven "browning" was a great compromise, and much less messy. Thanks for sharing this technique. The instructions didn't call for it, but I covered my pan during the first 30 minutes to prevent splatters in my oven. Next time, I will probably add the salt to the flour so that the fond (browned bits) have more flavor. The recipe can easily be adjusted for whatever vegetables you have on hand/in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
So good and so easy! Why didn't someone tell me 20 years ago that you can make great stew in the oven? I made no changes except for adding peas late because I wasn't sure I was going to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshallAlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is very similar to the stew my mom has always made. It is a good, classic recipe. I use diced tomatoes (just a personal preference) and I also wait and add frozen peas for the last 30 minutes. Keeps them from getting mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedyfamilyof5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This stew had a lot of flavor. I didn't have a roasting pan with a lid so I just made it in a 13x9 inch backing pan and covered it with foil. Next time I make it I will add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Great recipe - thanks Jo! I used this as a starting point but I browned the beef ahead of time. Also substitued beef boulion instead of french onion soup (I'm an American in the UK and it's difficult to find certain ingrediants). I added a dash of red wine, parseley, 2 bay leaves and garlic powder, then stuck it all in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. Turned out amazing and was extremely easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I like the addition of the onion soup mix. I substituted corn & green beans instead of peas. I also added more water. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Best stew recipe I've tried so far. Omitted the peas and doubled the potatoes and it was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I made this with grass-fed beef which cooks quicker, so reduced the temp. by 50 deg. Otherwise, followed the directions exactly. It turned out perfectly!!! Whole family loved it, including my 3 and 5 year olds!! We will make this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the best stew I've ever had! It definately didn't have enough liquid for me though so I doubled the amount of water. I also used all frozen veggies except the potatoes. I also used cut up marinating steak instead of the stewing beef to cut out some of the fat. I also didn't have stewed tomatos so I used canned diced and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States