Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was very good although I tweaked it a little, I always do. I parboiled the potatoes then baked them with the garlic and some sliced white onions for 10 minutes. I then added the asparagus and baked for another 10 minutes. I also cut way back on the herbs as they are both extremely strong. It was a very good side dish with grilled New York Steaks! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I added sliced red bell pepper when I added the asparagus, and did not have rosemary (didn't have it on hand). Otherwise, I made no changes, and this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Ubertasty!! I too reduced the rosemary and thyme to one teaspoon each!! A definate crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyLBC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
LOVED these! The only change I made was to use fresh instead of dried herbs. I also followed the example of some other reviewers and left the potatoes in for 30 min and then added the asparagus for the last 10. This was def. a hit with the roommate and me! I added some cherry tomoatoes in with the asparagus for some color and they were amazing with the "dressing" as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These potatoes and veggies were very tasty. Saves on the dishes. The changes I made after reading other reviews were: Used only 1 teaspoon of rosemary and one teaspoon thyme. I baked the potatoes, covered for 30 mins., added asparagus covered 5 mins and uncovered for the last 5 mins. I also added a chopped onion with the potatoes for added flavor. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wow this was really a big hit! I did omit the rosemary and thyme. Will defintely make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is probably the most delicious side I've ever made. Everyone who's eaten it has loved it, and it makes my whole apartment smell great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I did not have a lot of time to prepare this. I microwaved 2 Idaho potatoes for 5 min. then chopped them into chunks. Used the spices - cutting back on the rosemary. I cooked the potatoes for 10 minutes in the oven and then added the asparagus for another 10 minutes. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was good, but I did follow other reviewers and only used 1 tsp of both the rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
The taste was pretty good but this needs a lot of work. First of all 4 tsp of rosemary and thyme would be way too much. I used 1 tsp of each and that was plenty. The potatoes ended up being over cooked (they were over done at the 30 minutes when I went to add the asparagus and it's not like I cut them into small pieces or anything. I added the asparagus during the last 10 minutes of cooking and they were way over cooked too. If I try making this again then I'll probably leave out the asparagus and just make the potatoes and not use foil so that they'll be crisper. *Update* I just had the leftovers from the fridge and the flavors of the potatoes were soooo good. I normally like my potatoes hot, with the exception of potato salad, they tasted awesome cold! I will definitely try tweaking the cooking directions and still leave out the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States