Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was skeptical at the huge amount of rosemary and thyme, but I always follow recipes to the T when I first try them. After eating what we could of this, my girlfriend and I felt like we had eaten a bowl of rosemary and parsley. It was barely palatable. I almost wonder if it's a misprint - perhaps 1/4-tsp. of each (instead of FOUR) would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I always follow the recipe exactly the 1st time. Until now... I didn't have any thyme so I omitted that. I poured 2 tbs. oil in the glass dish, added potatoes, garlic and red bell pepper and cooked covered for 30 mins. Then I added the asparagus and cooked covered for 5 mins. & uncovered for 5 more. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Wonderful! I followed other suggestions and cooked potatoes at 425 for 30 min covered, then 5 covered with asparagus and 5 more uncovered. The asparagus turned out perfectly. I also added raw onions to the potatoes, and everything turned out great! This will definitely be my go-to roasted potato recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
So simple and so delicious. I did have to extend the cooking time... the potatoes just wouldn't cook through. I ended up overcooking the asparagus a tad. Next time I will chop the potatoes into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
these are very tasty! make sure to not add the asparagus until the last 5-10 mins, otherwise it will definitely be overdone. i also sometimes add peppers, onions, or whatever veggies you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Please make sure you like the taste of rosemary before trying this recipe as written. I like the herb in small amounts but I found the rosemary overwhelming in this dish, and ended up throwing most of it away. I'm still giving it 2 stars for the basic concept. I'm sure I would have liked this much better with different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was a very easy and flavorful recipe. The only thing I changed was cutting the herbs in half, and using 1/4 tsp of salt total. It would have been way too herby and salty as written. Great compliment to chicken and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Great combination. Potatoes were good but the asparagus was over cooked. 10 - 15 minutes total cooking time for the asparagus is probably long enough. Also would leave the asparagus spears whole next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This was delicious -- I liked the spices just as the recipe called for. The potatoes and asparagus were overcooked and too soft. Next time I'll adjust the cooking times, but I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I love herbs so I followed the recipe, even after I read the comments to scant on them. It was kinda like chewing on twigs by the end of the meal. It would have been just as flavorful with about half the amount I think. Also, by the time my taters were done my asparagus was over-cooked. May need to change cooking times to fix this...I'll try again though...definitely has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States