Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
The taste was pretty good but this needs a lot of work. First of all 4 tsp of rosemary and thyme would be way too much. I used 1 tsp of each and that was plenty. The potatoes ended up being over cooked (they were over done at the 30 minutes when I went to add the asparagus and it's not like I cut them into small pieces or anything. I added the asparagus during the last 10 minutes of cooking and they were way over cooked too. If I try making this again then I'll probably leave out the asparagus and just make the potatoes and not use foil so that they'll be crisper. *Update* I just had the leftovers from the fridge and the flavors of the potatoes were soooo good. I normally like my potatoes hot, with the exception of potato salad, they tasted awesome cold! I will definitely try tweaking the cooking directions and still leave out the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonstar
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Please use measurable terms in your recipes! I cooked the potatoes with raw onion for 30 minutes covered, then added asparagus for 5 covered and 5 uncovered. The asparagus was perfect but the potatoes were still not fully cooked. I may have cut my "chunks" too big? Cooked for another 7 or so minutes and they were good to go, but the asparagus was a little overdone. Tasty flavors, I cut the seasonings way down (garlic, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhedde

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I like the idea of this recipe, but I think that cooking the asparagus for 20+ minutes would make them a mushy mess. Instead, I only added the asparagus for the last 8 minutes or so of cooking. I cut down on the garlic significantly. I only added enough olive oil and seasonings to coat the potatoes (and then enough olive oil to coat the asparagus). I liked this recipe, but I don't think using the cooking time as written would work. If you are interested, I created a custom version of this recipe with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
READ REVIEWS FIRST!! Ok this was delicious with changes. Luckily I read the reviews first so I reduced rosemary and thyme to 1 tsp each -which was PLENTY. I also cooked potatoes for 30 min. alone and then added the asparagus for 10 min ONLY and it came out perfect (any more cooking would have overcooked it) - so total cooking time was about 40 min. I also put garlic cloves through garlic press rather than slicing. With these changes it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I rated it a 4 only because I think the spices were overkill. I didn't read any reviews before making it, but in hindsight I would have cut back on the rosemary and tyme (maybe 1/2 to 3/4?) like other reviewers. I am also in high altitude, so the potatoes took a little longer to cook, which I am slowly getting used to. I would recommend waiting until the potatoes are pretty much done before adding the asparagus. But I think next time I make this the outcome will be a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Really liked this dish. I followed other reviews and only used half the rosemary, which I thought was a good. This tastes really good cold as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michpoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was very yummy, I also did not use quite as much on the herbs and salt, only about half that and it was more than enough. Also the asparagus does not need to cook quite that long. I had very thin asparagus and they were a little over cooked. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very good! I roasted my garlic first, then tossied it with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekblink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I also reduced the rosemary and thyme as indicated by previous reviewers, and so glad that I did..The recipe was delicious and I certainly will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I've fixed these potatoes so many times! I especially like to make them when we have company over. I usually leave the asparagus out, but it's good with them, too. I don't even measure out how much olive oil, rosemary, thyme, garlic, or pepper I use. I just eyeball it. The only issue is that sometimes the potatoes stick to the pan, so I make sure I check them and scrape them off if they do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Seibert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States