Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I took other users' advice and reduced the amount of the rosemary and thyme - I think leaving it at the original amount would have been overkill. Otherwise, it is a great tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the best thing on my table at Easter :) Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled the potatoes but reduced the rosemary and thyme. I marinate the potato mixture in a bag for about an hour before putting in the oven. Make sure the potatoes are pretty much completely done before you add the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I cut the salt and spices in half, and only added the asparagus the last 10 minutes. It came out delicious - even my picky teenagers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I agree the cooking time was off, but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I'm sorry I didn't read the reviews first as I usually do. I totally agree that the amount of rosemary and thyme is overkill. 1/4 - 1/2 tsp at the most would be appropriate. Also, my asparagus was overcooked by the time the potatoes were done, so as others have mentioned, definitely cook potatoes 30 mins and THEN add the asparagus. I too had to throw mine out. Husband said it felt like we were eating a sprinkling of potatoes on spices. I will try this recipe again but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyRawesome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe with the exception of the seasoning. I have a Italian Herb seasoning that I used in place of the rosemary and thyme. I didn't feel like going out to buy seasonings I never use. I ate 3 helpings, while my boyfriend demanded I leave him leftovers:)This paired wonderfully with grilled tri-tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this last night to go with my steak. I love potatoes and asparagus and this made a great combo. Since I halved the recipe I did use two tbs each of the thyme and rosemary, even that it smelled a little overpowering at first it turned out just perfect once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very delicious dish. Grumpy wasn't crazy for it but I LOVED it. I did cut the thyme and rosemary down. I thought 4 tsp each would have been way too much (like many other's here). I did use all the garlic though! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I love roasted potatoes and I love asparagus. I had no idea there was a recipe for cooking them together! We really like this in our house but I am a potato purist and prefer only oil, salt, and pepper. BTW, another easy method for cooking these is to toss the potatoes in the oil and seasonings, place cut side down in a big hot nonstick pan (lid on) over med/high. After 15 minutes, toss the asparagus pieces in the residual oil and seasonings. Lift the lid on the pan, turn the pieces of potato over and dump in the asparagus. Slap the lid on and finish off for another 10 minutes. I find this method to be easier than using the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States