Oven Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Use Yukon Golds (cut them in eighths) or new/reds (cut them in quarters). Put them in a big ziploc with the oil. Add salt and crushed BLACK pepper -- lots of it, if you like spice. Forget all the herbs -- they conflict. Add about 4 tablespoons of lightly chopped rosemary, or 2 tbl. of dried rosemary. Throw in the garlic, too, more if you like garlic. That's it -- salt, pepper, oil, garlic and rosemary. Shake the bag, and let it sit on your counter for a while, shaking occasionally. No more than 10 minutes, with a few shakes. If you prefer basil, use basil instead of rosemary. If you prefer spicy, shake some hot sauce into the bag. You get the idea. Keep it simple. Then bake. Then enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Like others, I used red potatoes and, as a time-saver, left the skins on. To keep it low maintanence, I cooked at 350 (while other dishes were in the oven) for about 45 minutes. In the last 10 mintues, I broiled them to get them crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Reheats well. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Delicious and easy. I make these all of the time, but have started to use only a few spices and herbs - at this point, I feel the outcome is best when only garlic powder, salt, ground black pepper and chili powder is used. Sometimes I'll add some rosemary, but most times I do not. Thanks - love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1054 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Instead of measuring out all the different spices I just used about 1 1/2 tsp. to 2 tsp. of Herbes de Provence which has many of the spices listed here. I used Yukon Gold potatoes (always!). Placed the quartered potatoes in a gallon sized ziploc bag. Added the oil, garlic, Herbes de Provence, salt and some fresh ground pepper. Shook up and poured out on to a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. Baked as directed. Beautiful result. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I made this and used only the olive oil , garlic, basil, parsley, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and it was AMAZING!!! I also baked it at 350 for about 50 mins, and the potatoes were perfect, not too mushy, not too crunchy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These are my favorite roasted potatoes, I make them all the time. They are tender, delicious and pretty too. One note of warning - I found that 475 was too high, I bake these on 425 for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I doubled the recipe with no problems. I did microwave the potatoes (in their jackets) to reduce cooking time. Skip the peeling! The skin adds nutrients and interest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Use Yukon potatoes cut in 8ths or new/reds cut in 1/4s. Put in lg plastic bag with oil. Add salt and BLACK pepper. Forget the herbs-they conflict. Add 2T dried rosemary, the garlic--more if you like-- thats it salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary. Shake the bag and let it sit on the counter for no more than 10 min shaking occasionally . If desired subsitute basil for the rosemary. Then bake., You get the idea. Keep it simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This is a great recipe, each time I make it I vary whatever spices I feel I want to use, it's very versatile! I normally like to cut up the potatoes and then boil them for about 5 minutes or so and then put them in a pyrex dish and bake for 20 minutes, it makes sure they are soft and and the roasting makes them crispy. The get eaten up every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
These potatoes are great. I often roast potatoes with just olive oil and rosemary, but these were so much better. I did all a little fresh cracked pepper to the mix and some onion wedges. Also, mine burned. I will probably turn the oven down a little the next time I make. These are a definate do again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States