Oven Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Less is more! I tried this recipe exactly as written and found the combination of flavours a bit overwhelming. In subsequent attempts I decided to limit the seasoning to only one or two herbs and made a few other changes as well: - I parboiled the potatoes for about 6 minutes in rapidly boiling water; - In "phase 1" I coated the potatoes in half olive oil and half butter, seasoned with salt and pepper, then roasted for about 30 minutes at 375 degrees; - In "phase 2" I added a bunch of fresh rosemary (leaves coarsely chopped) MIXED with about an 1/8 cup of olive oil, a large clove of garlic put through a press, and a TBSP. of red wine vinegar, stirred into the hot potatoes then continued to roast for another 40 minutes at 375 degrees, stirring occasionally; - I've found that using a heavy cast-iron fry pan for the entire process enhances the browning and crispiness; - This recipe also works GREAT on a BBQ and the flavours are even further enhanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This has become a favorite for us as a side to almost anything. I usually use less olive oil, and it still comes out nice and crispy with tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very delicious!!! I just added extra virgin olive olive, parsley, oregano, thyme, salt & pepper. I've made roasted potatoes a lot but for some reason these were the best I've ever tasted. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Followed the recipes ingredients exactly, but lowered the temp to 425 and baked for about 40 min. YUMMY!!! Loved them and will be making again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Used this with different spices but the time and temp works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
We weren't impressed. The seasonings were okay, but these were too spicy. We like spicy food, but this spice didn't seem to work well with the seasonings. If I were to make it again, I'd leave out the hot pepper seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My kids and I dearly loved this recipe! I left out a couple spices only because of our sensitive stomach but it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Will absolutely make these again. Doubled the recipe. Scrubbed and quartered the spuds. Tossed them with Parmesan cheese after roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Yum, the kids wish I would've made more! I left them in the oven for an extra 1/2 hr and they were so crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made as written, except left our salt, and cooked at 375 for an hour to accommodate the pie I was also making. Used russet potatoes and ate them like potato wedges with ketchup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States