Oven Roasted Greek Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Excellent! I had this for a family dinner and everyone was asking where I found such a great recipe. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
In one word, Fantastic! I used a few more potato's (enough to fill a lasagna casserole dish approx 9x13) and cubed the potato's about the same size as tater tots. Followed the spices exactly but did not have time to marinate just covered with foil and baked 1-1/4 hours covered and another 15 minutes uncovered, turned out great and they were even tastier as left overs. A good recipe to make ahead to avoid last minute prep when you have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
These turned out terrific. I think you could adjust the amount of seasonings to your own preference but I liked the flavor they had. Used new red potatoes, more olive oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this and found it to be wonderful. The only thing I changed was to par boil the potatoes before hand (after reading other reviews that the potatoes were not cooked completely thru). Ended up marinating for about 18 hours as we had a grandbaby born the day in which these were intended. I Think because they were partially cooked before marinated helped to ensure they soaked up the flavor. Super Yummy!!! Took some to the hospital for my daughter and she really liked!! By the way, beautiful baby boy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I loved these! And I didn't even have any wine on hand so just used a wee bit more water and bouillon. The trick to making these is to cook them long and slow (especially if you don't have time to marinate). Otherwise, yes, they don't have enough time to absorb the flavours. I suggest 2 hours on 350 and then turn down to 300 (or even lower depending on your oven) for another half hour, taking the lid off for the last 30 minutes. They come out browned and full of flavour! (Greek potatoes are intended to be a little mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Unbelievable! I parboiled my potato quarters for 5 minutes first, and then marinated them for about 4 hours. I won't give any advice on cooking time because mine was a little confusing (we had a ham in the oven as well for the first hour, so the temp wasn't high enough at first - the temp really needs to be in the 400s to get them crisp on the outside like I want them). The flavours were absolutely perfect. I added a little extra lemon rind and garlic, and we had no white wine so I used Cinzano. I found the marinade very forgiving in quantities... we love oregano & basil so I used a looooot more than suggested. Great ingredients! Thanks so much for this recipe, it was a huge hit. I served it with homemade garlic/cayenne/paprika mayonnaise and it was simply divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This recipe was very good. I didn't cook the potatoes long enough, but that was my fault. I will definately make it again. I didn't have lemon pepper, so I added a little extra lemon. It was really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Nice simple recipe. I didn't have fresh lemon so used RealLemon juice so also did not have the lemon zest. We are also not wine drinkers so I had no white wine and used chicken broth. I usually do not like Rosemary but I don't like when someone changes the recipe then comments on it so I added. It really tasted great - would use the rosemary again when I make. I did not have the time listed to marinate so I parboiled the red potatoes as had be recommended by others then marinated as listed for about 2 1/2 hours cooked in the oven at 350 then increased to 450 to brown and finish off as I was pressed for time. Great flavor. Combine this with the souvlaki recipe by Abby Benner on this site (recipe is for pork but I will try with chicken also) for a great Greek meal - both recipes use a lot of the same ingredients so makes prepping easy. A keeper - different from our normal roasted potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I parboiled the potatoes as some others suggested, but ended up over-cooking them and some got a little mushy. I still went ahead and tossed all of the spices in (minus the lemon pepper and rosemary, I put more thyme in instead). I also added 1 tablespoon of olive oil and the Italian salad dressing and garlic and a little lemon juice. (I had to use the zest in something else.) And then I stopped there (no wine or water) because I tasted it and it was delicious. I just ended up serving it as a room-temp potato salad and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
awesome! full of flavour. would recommend yukon gold potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States