Oven Roasted Greek Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this and found it to be wonderful. The only thing I changed was to par boil the potatoes before hand (after reading other reviews that the potatoes were not cooked completely thru). Ended up marinating for about 18 hours as we had a grandbaby born the day in which these were intended. I Think because they were partially cooked before marinated helped to ensure they soaked up the flavor. Super Yummy!!! Took some to the hospital for my daughter and she really liked!! By the way, beautiful baby boy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I didn't have time to marinate these, so I just tossed them with all the ingredients, minus the water, and roated them in a baking dish. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
In one word, Fantastic! I used a few more potato's (enough to fill a lasagna casserole dish approx 9x13) and cubed the potato's about the same size as tater tots. Followed the spices exactly but did not have time to marinate just covered with foil and baked 1-1/4 hours covered and another 15 minutes uncovered, turned out great and they were even tastier as left overs. A good recipe to make ahead to avoid last minute prep when you have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I loved these! And I didn't even have any wine on hand so just used a wee bit more water and bouillon. The trick to making these is to cook them long and slow (especially if you don't have time to marinate). Otherwise, yes, they don't have enough time to absorb the flavours. I suggest 2 hours on 350 and then turn down to 300 (or even lower depending on your oven) for another half hour, taking the lid off for the last 30 minutes. They come out browned and full of flavour! (Greek potatoes are intended to be a little mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I was very disappointed with this recipe. Despite making a special trip to the store to make sure I had all the spices listed, taking the time to marinate, and basting twice during cooking, the result was decidedly bland, except for the overpowering rosemary. I definitely will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Love making a dish that can be prepared ahead of time and still turns out to be a pleaser. Marinated the potatoes the night before, did not pre-cook as some have suggested and didn't think they required it, followed recipe exactly except I doubled it as i was serving 13 people, no leftovers they were devoured. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I parboiled the potatoes as some others suggested, but ended up over-cooking them and some got a little mushy. I still went ahead and tossed all of the spices in (minus the lemon pepper and rosemary, I put more thyme in instead). I also added 1 tablespoon of olive oil and the Italian salad dressing and garlic and a little lemon juice. (I had to use the zest in something else.) And then I stopped there (no wine or water) because I tasted it and it was delicious. I just ended up serving it as a room-temp potato salad and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This recipe was very good. I didn't cook the potatoes long enough, but that was my fault. I will definately make it again. I didn't have lemon pepper, so I added a little extra lemon. It was really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Marinated for 24 hours and tasted GREAT! Suggest longer cooking time ( I cooked for 2 hours ) or raising temperature to 375 and cooking for 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Excellent! I had this for a family dinner and everyone was asking where I found such a great recipe. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States