Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My roast turned out very tender and flavorful. The gravy was great for mashed potatoes. I didn't have any vermouth or white wine so I just added water instead and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
this pot roast was wonderful-and the best part is no one would believe how easy it was to prepare-I didn't change a thing. I made it for company and my family was still raving about it the next day!! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Simply wonderful. I had an eye of round roast and wanted no something simple. This was simple and made it's own gravy! I will use the butter browning method for all my roasts from now on. It probably contributed to the rich gravy color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I have tried this recipe several times and it always turns out great. It's also very easy. I didn't have vermouth and used white wine instead. It still turned out nicely. I also used a chuck roast. This is my standard pot roast recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This recipe is a keeper! I didn't know how to fix the rump roast in the freezer because they always seem to come out so dry. I tried this recipe and it is great! The meat was tender and very moist. Everyone loved it -- even my 6 year old picky-eater. Following some of the other reviews, I used the whole packet of onion soup mix and increased the dry vermouth to 3/4 cup. I also added potatoes and carrots for the last hour of baking. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
My husband swore he hated pot roast until he tried this dish. I used the garlic soup mix instead of onion and added fresh onions before cooking. He said he wants it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Sometimes when you see "simple" recipe claims, they're a little too simple and not very flavorful-----BUT NOT THIS ONE!!!! This was simple and simple DELICIOUS!!! I didn't have the white wine so I add water instead. We had dinner guest coming (not always the greatest time to try a new recipe!) and they just ranted and raved about the meat!! I served with homemade mashed potatoes and homemade yeast rolls. Oh my goodness!! They had to roll my husband away from the table!!! Great, great recipe!! Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I live in a condo and my neighbor knocked on my door to ask, "What's cooking? It smells delish!" Not only did this recipe smell and taste great, but it was easy to make -- my kind of dish. I like recipes with few ingredients and not a lot of measuring to do. This one was just that. Plus, my boyfriend went to work yesterday with leftovers, something he never does. Tastes great the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This recipe was excellent and the smell of it cooking was unbelievable. After baking for about 2 hours, I added red potatoes, carrots and parsnips and baked for 1 1/2 hours more. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Absolutely the best roast I have ever made!!!! I used a Chuck Roast, and added veggies half way through cooking. Everyone was raving about it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States