Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent! However, I made a few changes based on what I had. White wine instead of vermouth. Secondly, DH does not like the onion soup mix so instead used a half envelope of McCormicks Au Jus gravy mix with a cup of water. I am usually not big on sauces or alot of gravy but this is one the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA
Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
it was good...so yummy!!a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was very good and easy to make. I did fine the sauce a little boring and spiked it with more vermouth, a little cream, water and herbs de provence. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Have cooked pot roast for years and decided to give this recipe a try. It was delicious. Had a good taste and was so tender. Also super easy. Great recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe!! I do have my own modifications to this however.....instead of butter I use olive oil to brown the meat. Also, to the meat before browning I add fresh minced galic, basil, oregano, onion powder and also a little garlic powder. While browning the meat your house will smell amazing and it adds great flavor to the dish. After the meat has browned, I lift up the meat and deglaze the pan with red wine to get all the extra "GOOD STUFF" off the bottom and put the roast back in the pan. I also use red wine in place of the vermouth. Last thing....my son hates beef unless it is hamburger because it is too hard to chew. I cooked this at 315 for 4 1/2 hours and the beef comes out SSSOOO tender it just melts in your mouth and my son loves it. Side note...at the 3 1/2 hour mark, I pull it out of the oven and add all the veggies and potatoes and a little water if the incorporate it. Put it back in to cook for the last hour. Veggie come out perfect and not too mushy. Thank you for the great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
this was amazing. I am not much of a red meat eater but my boys wanted a roast. I followed the cooking instructions exactly only substituting the vermouth with red wine and the meat fell apart when I sliced it and the gravy was delicious. I will make again....this got rave reviews in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sturgeon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I"m not sure what to say about this pot roast. Mine did not turn out well, but it may have been user error. I followed the recipe. My only change was to use a whole packet of onion soup mix. Problem #1 (user error I'm sure) - My butter burned. Usually I use oil to brown/sear meat before roasting. At the temperature I usually sear my meat, my butter burned. I had to cool my pan, wipe out the butter, and try again, but I still had enough burned butter that I had to wipe out the excess after I seared my meat. Problem #2 - My meat was overcooked and dry. I tried to follow other users instructions and add potatoes & carrots 1 hour before finishing. I used a 3.5 lb roast as instructed at 325 for 3 hours. At the 2 hour mark, I removed my dutch oven to add the veg and I used a probe thermometer to check my status. It was already fully well done at 2 hours. I added the veg anyway and put it back in, thinking maybe it would just braise and get tender in the last hour. I did my veg for about 35 - 40 min until soft. When I sliced my meat, it was tough and dry. The gravy made it edible, but it was not like I expected. Problem #3 - Not enough salt. I thought that with the full OSM packet, I would have plenty of salt, but I had to season everything. Possibly the veg soaked up some salt. The gravy was good and homey, but nothing outstanding and not enough of it. Overall a disappointment. I will try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is amazing. I make this every couple of months and there is never any left over. I make it exactly as directed and it comes out perfect every time. I keep dry vermouth on hand just for this recipe alone. It's a must in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilolkrista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States