Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm making this as I type this...and my apartment smells amazing...I added raw onion, potatoes, and carrots an hour before cooking time is done, so they don't get too mushy. I tasted the sauce...and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Been making my beef & pork roasts this way for years. Only I don't brown them first and I roast them for four hours at 325 degrees for a 3 - 4 lb roast. I also use beef broth vs vermouth or wine, the onion soup mix and roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup for the beef roast and chicken broth, golden onion soup mix and cream of celery for the pork roast. The meat falls apart and is very tender & moist. The gravy is wonderful and you don't have to do a thing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I will never make another roast but this one..it was awesome great flavor this recipe is to die for. Not exaggerating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelo Rosario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This turned out delicious. I used white cooking wine because I didn't have any vermouth on hand, and like others I added potatoes and carrots during the last 45 minutes of cooking. The meat was so tender, my son said, "Mom, you don't even need a knife to cut this!" My other son said, "Why don't you make this all the time?!" From now on, I will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Made this today and my husband said it was the best, which pleased me because he is very fussy about his food. I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
It's too much butter and you can get a better brown with just a little oil after you dredge the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newt777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My mom has made a very similar recipe for 40 years - still my favorite to make! We do not brown the roast. Put it in the pot (a flat chuck roast works great), drizzle some Heinz 57 steak sauce on top (3-4 Tbs), sprinkle on 1 pkg of onion soup mix, and mix 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup with about 1/2 can of water (I'll have to try it with the vermouth) - pour it over top of the roast. Cover and put in a 350 oven for 1 hour, then reduce to 275 for 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours. You may want to slide a foil-lined cookie sheet onto the lower rack of the oven when you start, in case the liquid boils over. Best gravy ever! Makes great hot beef sands with mashed potatoes and cover the whole thing with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Just a reminder you have to tell your Dinner eaters that there is Mushroom soup in this recipe. Mushrooms are an allergen for Many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Used a 3lb chuck roast cooked 3 hrs. Used burgundy wine, my favorite for pot roasts and stew. Rest of preparation was as stated in recipe. Roast was falling apart when I removed it from pot. Had to leave so I removed roast from pan, threw in potatos, carrots & celery. Returned covered pot to oven but turned oven off. Oh, I also added 2 cups of water to thin out soup mixture left in pot. Returned home to perfectly cooked veggies. Haven't eatten it yet but sampled. It was very tasty and can't wait to serve tomorrow night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I am very happy that I tried this recipe. Spectacular! It was easy to make and the outcome superseded the effort it took to prepare it. My chef friend-sister said to try it with red wine if I prepare it again to further enhance the flavor. I used white wine because I was able to purchase a small bottle for $1.39 instead of a large bottle of vermouth for almost $6.00. Oh yes, my husband loved it too. He said he felt like overeating....but he restrained. What's for lunch tomorrow...easy question to answer! I had garlic mashed potatoes with carrots to accompany. I bet parsnips would be great with this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeJay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States