Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have been making Pot Roast for years…always the same way with beef broth and red wine in the crock pot. I tried this recipe and it was to die for! I did not have and do not care for vermouth so I added 1/2 cup of red wine to the soups and a touch of Thyme. I also added carrots onions and potatoes. The flavor was excellent and the meat fell apart. I highly recommend this recipe!! I think I'm going to change my ways! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
MADE IN SLOW COOKER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Excellent, tender pot roast! And the smell of it cooking was enough to drive everyone crazy with anticipation. I doubled the gravy part, because my family is into gravy, but otherwise only added carrots and potatoes during the cooking. Definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this the other night, and only used beef consomme because I didn't have vermouth. Everything else I followed to the letter, and it was delish!! My family said this is one that they want on the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I cooked it for only 2.5 hour and it was perfect! The hardest thing about cooking a delicious pot roast is the timing and so I'm glad I got that down. Otherwise the seasoning was spot-on for some excellent gravy!!! I did substitute beef broth for the vermouth and I skipped the butter and just did a once around with the olive oil bottle. YUMMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this yesterday exactly as written, using white wine instead of vermouth. The best Pot Roast we have ever had, thanks so much for the recipe! Served with garlic mashed potatoes and boiled carrots and turnips on the side. Yumyum....certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious! I did add one extra can of cream of mushroom soup, but left the rest of the ingredients the same, because I like to have a little more sauce. Turned out great. I also took Boxermom's advice and added garlic powder and seasonal all to the flour along with the pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday with just a couple tweeks because of what I had on hand, but basic recipe. It is amazing. It was a nice day so I had the doors open, I was mowing the lawn and about 1/3 of an acre away and could smell it cooking. A keeper for sure. You should check it periodically because I did need to add liquid. I used beef broth to keep it from going dry. I added carrots and gold potatoes. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've been making pot roasts for over 40 years and this is the best, easiest one ever! I've seen similar recipes over the years but because I don't like cream of mushroom soup or dried onion soup mix I never tried them. With all the positive reviews I decided to give it a try... Especially since it uses dry white vermouth (the choice of Julia Child in cooking). I added a little extra water as I added potatoes and carrots the last hour and my dutch oven has a lid that doesn't fit well, so liquid evaporated. Bottom line... Delicious with the best gravy ever, and soooooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm making this as I type this...and my apartment smells amazing...I added raw onion, potatoes, and carrots an hour before cooking time is done, so they don't get too mushy. I tasted the sauce...and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States