Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Well this was fantastic. Mine was done in 2.5 hours, but I used chuck roast. I took one reviewers suggestion and added onions. Because my kids don't like chunky gravy, I used the immersion blender (because of the onions) it and made a delicious gravy. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So good ... easy and delicious...and no last minute work. Used a 2.5lb rump roast and baked in Corning Ware casserole. Made recipe exactly as written but added 1/2 bag baby carrots after 2 hours and noticed it also needed more liquid so add 1 cup beef stock. After 3 hours, removed for husband to slice and added cup frozen green beans. Heated gravy, carrots and beans in microwave. Served with noodles and put gravy in pitcher to use with meat and noodles. What a stress-free meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
WOW! We loved it! I added some garlic powder and onion powder to the flower mixture. I added frozen chopped onion and some garlic to the butter and let it saute for a few minutes then browned the roast. I added cut up carrots and potatoes to the dish and used 1 cup of beef broth instead of the wine. I cooked with a foil cover at 250 degrees for five hours. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
BEST POT ROAST EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substituted beef broth for the vermouth and everything turned out perfect. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Best pot roast I have ever made! I used a whole pkg of onion soup mix and it made the gravy a little salty but that's an easy fix for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I was never a big fan of pot roast, but made it occasionally to please my hubby. This recipe changed my mind! I don't keep vermouth in the house, so I just whip up some beef bouillon. I add a cup of it so we have extra gravy for our potatoes. I sear the roast in a Dutch oven, mix the wet ingredients together, cover, then throw it in the oven. I add the baby carrots, potatoes and onions in after a hour or so. The only complaint that I have is that the aroma fills the house and makes me salivate all afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very tasty pot roast and easy to make. I made a few changes...added Adobo seasoning, garlic powder and dried thyme to the flour, then instead of using dry vermouth I used beef broth from bouillon. I added baby carrots and quartered potatoes (they were big potatoes)about 1 1/2 hrs into cooking time. Hubby was a very happy man. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybodden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe tonite, and followed the recipe, except that I added 1 Tb Worcestershire sauce to the mix. After the first 2 hours, I added small peeled onions, small potatoes split in half, and half a bag of baby carrots. I cooked all this in my (Le Creuset dutch oven - just enameled cast iron). This was far better than my mother's pot roast recipe. Much more moist and flavorful. I've used her recipe for years, never much liked it, and gave up the idea of pot roast until I found this one. With the addition of the vegetables, I would have added 1 cup beef broth, because the gravy was rather thick. If cooked to the exact recipe as stated, I think this would have been wonderful. The additions I made...the Worcestershire sauce and the vegetables...took it over the top. Five stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Feltz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe just before a TV football playoff game. Had not much time to assemble, but it was quick and easy. I started it on the stovetop in a cast iron pot and transferred it into the oven. I added carrots and shallots to the pot. I used an inexpensive sweet white wine. I also baked some potatoes in the same oven the last hour and a half. Yes the aroma is very inviting and the taste great. I checked the meat at about an hour and it was tough, then let it finish the three-hour baking and it could be cut with a fork. The meat was then soft and yummy. My only negative is that the soup mix adds too much salt. I would look for a low salt alternative next time. I might try doubling the liquid since it makes such a nice sauce. This was the first successful pot roast I have made. Will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States