Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was by far the best pot roast I've ever made. Only added two onions sautéed after browning the meat and threw in a bunch of garlic cloves (to your taste). Also added a can of drained mushrooms to the mix and baked 4 hours at 325. Perfectly tender, fantastic gravy! Served with mashed potatoes and peas. I did not use the butter or flour. Just some oil to brown the meat and onions. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was delicious! Used it to impress the inlaws and I think it did the trick! Only thing I did different was use beef stock instead of vermouth and it still turned out wonderful! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
By far the best pot roast! I made a couple of changes: Used beef chuck instead of romp roast, didn't add the vermouth and doubled the onion dip and cream of mushroom because my family likes a lot of gravy. I also cooked it for 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this tonight and it was really delicious!! My hubby loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! However it did cook faster than the recipe calls for. I cooked it at 300 degrees in the Dutch oven I browned it in and it was 180 degrees after only 1 hour! I also used a chuck roast instead of a rump roast. Flavors are great though and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Exactly how pot roast should taste! Used beef broth instead of vermouth and recipe came out fabulously! This is a keeper. Thank you for taking the time to share!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Will not make again. I had a lot of hope that this would be wonderful, however, it turned out very dry. Gravy was good but that's where it ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The gravy is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very easy! I did this one in a large dutch oven so it could go right into the oven from the stove top. I didn't have onion soup mix or vermouth on hand so I used a whole fresh chopped onion and tossed in 4 whole garlic cloves and a bay leaf. I also used a dry red wine and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States