Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
AMAZING!!!! I made this with vermouth - a lot of people who reviewed here had used wine. The vermouth made the flavor and aroma so rich, and there is no alcohol taste. Just yumminess. I doubled the gravy and added in chunks of carrots, potatoes, celery and onion about halfway through. The gravy MAKES. ITSELF. Nothing to add. My roast was a little dry but only because my guests arrived about an hour late. I thought I made more than enough but this 3.5 pound roast was devoured by 6 people. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I make this all of the time. Its a perfect Sunday pot roast with not too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very good receipe. I used apple sobe instead of wine. My family enjoyed it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have tried a lot of pot roast recipes and this recipe was absolutely delicious. I didn't have dry onion soup mix so I used a half an envelope of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix. I also added beef stock instead of vermouth. I added red potatoes and baby carrots and cooked for 2 hours and it was perfect. Very delicious and have plenty of leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I decided to try this recipe because it looked simple. Regretfully I didn't care for it at all. I agree with Susan's comment regarding rump roast as a curious selection of beef cut. I will go back to my usual chuck roast, as well as fresh carrots, potatoes, onions and herbs instead of dried onion soup mix and canned condensed soup. Yes it's easy. But to me at least it is not Pot Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Simple and amazing recipe, I will never cook a roast in a crock pot again! I was out of the dry onion mix so substituted a pot roast seasoning mix & used dry brown gravy mix. I also added potatoes and carrots per request to the roast during the last hour of baking. Making a second time today & doing 2 roasts because it was so good there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made this with my new dutch oven - fabulous pot roast. Best i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I used a chuck roast instead of the rump roast. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was amazed at how delicious this was. I was a little skeptical because of the strong Vermouth, but after baking it added the perfect flavor. I add 4 springs of rosemary to it and it's absolutely perfect. I gave some leftovers to a friend and she said she absolutely loved it! I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Outstanding! I used golden mushroom soup instead of mushroom and red wine instead of the vermouth. And I cooked it for 5 hours at 275, adding cut up potatoes and carrots the last two hours. The gravy was thick and tasty and the meat was very tender! Probably the best pot roast I've ever made! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States