Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This pot roast is delicious! My husband said it's one of the best meals I ever made! I did make a few changes based on other's reviews and what I had in the house. I added seasoned salt to the flour mixture, used cream of celery soup instead of mushroom, and used water instead of vermouth. I also cooked it for 5 hours at 275 and it came out fork tender and delicious! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe was easy to make and so delicious! I substituted red vermouth for the white and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet LoFurno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Delicious! I did not have vermouth so instead i substituted it with Sherry cooking wine. I used the entire envelope of the onion soup mix. I sauteed onions, celery, with the beef after browning it. And I added a 1/2 cup of beef broth. I then added the carrots, potatoes, and mushroom, at the two hour cooking mark. This pot roast came out soooo tender and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for My husband and best friends and they loved this, this is a must rebook as is.... This is by far the best pot roast I have ever had, sending this to my sisters and mom... WOW!!!! Amazing!!!,?.. Husband said to tell you thank you!!!.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Cary Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
The only change was the soup. I only had cream of onion on hand.I cooked the roast a bit too long. Next time I'll cook 1 1/2 hours. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 ft. Cutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was by far the best pot roast I've ever made. Only added two onions sautéed after browning the meat and threw in a bunch of garlic cloves (to your taste). Also added a can of drained mushrooms to the mix and baked 4 hours at 325. Perfectly tender, fantastic gravy! Served with mashed potatoes and peas. I did not use the butter or flour. Just some oil to brown the meat and onions. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was delicious! Used it to impress the inlaws and I think it did the trick! Only thing I did different was use beef stock instead of vermouth and it still turned out wonderful! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
By far the best pot roast! I made a couple of changes: Used beef chuck instead of romp roast, didn't add the vermouth and doubled the onion dip and cream of mushroom because my family likes a lot of gravy. I also cooked it for 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made this tonight and it was really delicious!! My hubby loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe! However it did cook faster than the recipe calls for. I cooked it at 300 degrees in the Dutch oven I browned it in and it was 180 degrees after only 1 hour! I also used a chuck roast instead of a rump roast. Flavors are great though and I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States