Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh my gosh! I have made many pot roast and this recipe is truly the very best. I did not have white wite or vermouth so I added beef broth.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is THE easiest, best tasting pot roast I have ever made. My family devours it every time I make it. Never seem to have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day-Nut!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good recipe, but the vermouth left a rather bad aftertaste and an unpleasant aroma when combined with the onion and mushroom soup. I may try it again with a red cooking wine. My roast using this recipe came out very tender using a 2 pound bottom round. Cooked it only 2 hours (I would add a note for reduced cooking time with smaller cuts). Added carrots and small white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good! thank you for the great recipe! :) I had never made pot roast in the oven and i hoped it would turn out okay.. this was also my husband's first time having me make it... we usually stick with ground beef and chicken breasts, so a chage was due! Normally I'm used to tomatoes being added to pot roast, but this is a good tomato-less recipe. I'm sure that a can of stewed toms would be great if someone added them to this recipe. I also used garlic pieces on top of the roast, and garlic powder, and a bit of lawrys seasoning salt. Also, after browning off the meat in the pan, I deglazed with white zinfandel, then added the rest of the ingredients.. I entertained and everyone was very happy with it! (including the skeptical husband... :) ) I had a tiny 1.65lb and roasted for 4hrs @ 325... I need a crockpot like my Mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Nuñez
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I made this tonight and it was delish!! I did make a a few changes though. I added a small can of tomato sauce,carrots,potatoes and 3 stalks of celery and a raw onion. I deglazed with a very small amount of Mascato (all i had on hand) And used the seasoning from a packet of Mccormick vegetable soup (you could use a pot roast one also) Im sure it would have been good without the changes but they sure made it WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amirah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was great. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I substituted cream of chicken and it turned out fabulous. We were fighting over the gravy. Also, I did not have wine so I used beef broth. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was really good. Thanks OP! As with a majority of folks on this site, I made a few changes to suit my needs. I did not use any flour to dredge the meat. I did not use any butter and used canola oil instead. I used chuck roast steaks instead of rump roast since that's what I had. I used Chardonnay wine since that's what I had too. I wanted more sauce, so I added 1/2 cup of water and was suprised there was still a good flavor and did not get watered down. I added creamer potatoes, mini red onions (think I'll omit those next time and add mushrooms), and baby carrots for convenience (no chopping!). I cooked it on the stove top in a dutch oven instead of in the oven. I've had pot roast when dining out and never liked it because the meat was more on the shredded side and I hate shredded meat. I cooked this chuck steak just so it was tender but not quite falling apart and shredding. It was tasty, filling, and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Oh my god this is amazing. I used Morton's Nature Seasoning in my flour mixture instead of pepper, used EVOO instead of butter, and used Cream of Chicken instead of Cream of Mushroom. Came out juicy and tender and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
5 stars, except I followed some review advice. Used a can of dark beer instead of vermouth. Used beef broth but had no soup to use.Before flour coat I rubbed fresh garlic on meat. However the recipe helped me have the foundation for what to do! My first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Four stars because it did not have that WOW factor. I reserve the five stars for recipes that I would recommend for an impressive dinner date with the girl or guy you really want to hook for life. Could not find anything wrong with this recipe after preparation. The flavor was great, the roast was tender enough to cut with a fork--yet firm enough to slice without it falling apart, the gravy it made was very tasty. I've never cooked a roast without adding some veggies. I added carrots and potatoes about an hour and a half after first placing the roast in the oven. My wife makes a roast in the crock-pot that is similar and always turns out great. This recipe takes a few more minutes to prepare, but cooks perfectly in about half the time. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States