Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was great. I didn't have cream of mushroom soup so I substituted cream of chicken and it turned out fabulous. We were fighting over the gravy. Also, I did not have wine so I used beef broth. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was really good. Thanks OP! As with a majority of folks on this site, I made a few changes to suit my needs. I did not use any flour to dredge the meat. I did not use any butter and used canola oil instead. I used chuck roast steaks instead of rump roast since that's what I had. I used Chardonnay wine since that's what I had too. I wanted more sauce, so I added 1/2 cup of water and was suprised there was still a good flavor and did not get watered down. I added creamer potatoes, mini red onions (think I'll omit those next time and add mushrooms), and baby carrots for convenience (no chopping!). I cooked it on the stove top in a dutch oven instead of in the oven. I've had pot roast when dining out and never liked it because the meat was more on the shredded side and I hate shredded meat. I cooked this chuck steak just so it was tender but not quite falling apart and shredding. It was tasty, filling, and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Oh my god this is amazing. I used Morton's Nature Seasoning in my flour mixture instead of pepper, used EVOO instead of butter, and used Cream of Chicken instead of Cream of Mushroom. Came out juicy and tender and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
5 stars, except I followed some review advice. Used a can of dark beer instead of vermouth. Used beef broth but had no soup to use.Before flour coat I rubbed fresh garlic on meat. However the recipe helped me have the foundation for what to do! My first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Four stars because it did not have that WOW factor. I reserve the five stars for recipes that I would recommend for an impressive dinner date with the girl or guy you really want to hook for life. Could not find anything wrong with this recipe after preparation. The flavor was great, the roast was tender enough to cut with a fork--yet firm enough to slice without it falling apart, the gravy it made was very tasty. I've never cooked a roast without adding some veggies. I added carrots and potatoes about an hour and a half after first placing the roast in the oven. My wife makes a roast in the crock-pot that is similar and always turns out great. This recipe takes a few more minutes to prepare, but cooks perfectly in about half the time. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Turned the oven to 285 as a previous reviewer did and left in for 6 hours. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AustinTaylor
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I added a container of mushrooms and a can of beef consume to the recipe -- came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I added mushrooms and used 1 can of beef consumme instead of vermouth- OMG! Delicious! The gravy was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Loved it! Didn't have onion soup so I added some chopped onion and a little beef broth to the mushroom soup and wine mix. I also added garlic powder to the flour like others had suggested, and I deglazed the skillet with a little broth and added that to the roasting pan. One hour at 325, then 250 for an additional three hours. Added carrots, onions, and red potatoes about one-and-a-half hours in. This turned out incredibly tender and delicious. The family loved it. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Absolutely fabulous and so simple!!! I added 2 shallots on the bottom and between meat. Broth was excellent (I have salty pallet, so added a lot more seasoning salt and garlic powder). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States