Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was delicious. I cooked it in a slow oven for 5 hours. I ommitted the vermouth and used beef stock. Also added garlic to the flour mixture. Served it with potatoe pancakes for a Chanukah meal. Evryuone loved it. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is SO GOOD! I have made it several times with wonderful results. If you have time, let the whole thing sit in the fridge for 1-2 days before serving to let the flavors really meld together. If you add hearty vegetables in the last hour of cooking, it is a complete meal in itself, but it is also fabulous served with rice or crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creme Brulee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
4.5 stars this was really good, after reading other reviews, I did the following, coated the meat in a seasoned flour mix and browned it on all sides in a mixture of olive oil and butter sauteed onions, carrots and garlic, removed everything to pan, then deglazed pan with red wine, beef broth, added 1 pack of onion soup mix. Cover it all up put it in oven after 3 hours it was done and gravy was done, no need to thicken, really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I will give this five stars. My family thought this roast was very tasty. I used about a 3 pound boneless chuck roast. The meat just melted in your mouth like butter. I made mashed potatoes with my meal. Thanks for sharing it was a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My family loved this. I used the basic premise and changed it to make it gluten free. 1) I used Gluten Free all purpose flour 2) replaced onion soup mix with 2 packages of sodium free beef boullion 3) added 3 tablespoons of dried onion flakes 4) added 1/4 tsp dry mustard, 1 tbl of crushed garlic, 1/4 tsp of paprika, 1 tbl of dried parsley (all to cover for seasonings that would have been in onion soup mix) 5) replaced condensced cream of mushroom soup with gluten free cream of mushroom soup (not condensced) 6) replaced white wine with 1/4 cp red cooking wine, (reduced amount of wine as the soup is not condensced) and I used salt free butter. This was phenomenal.. the 'sauce' was excellent and my family LOVED it. Never know it was gluten free... really really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was just average. My meat did not get tender. Sauce ok. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I stumbled upon this recipe which is incredibly close to my mom's recipe I have been using for 30+ years. It is so quick and easy but the flavor covers that secret. The only difference in mine is that I use 1 can EACH of cream of celery and cream of mushroom soups, 1 full envelope of Lipton onion soup mix, 1 can of mushroom stems & pieces, and a couple of minced garlic cloves. I do pepper then brown the roast but have never done that in butter before so I might have to give that a try. I also don't dredge in flour or any seasonings anymore because I didn't find the flour added anything to the finished dish. Toss the potatoes and carrots in for the last hour of cooking (I prefer 275 degrees to improve tenderness) and it tastes like you have been slaving over this dish all day! I think I will also have to try adding white wine next time. Thanks for sharing this timeless fail-safe recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh my gosh! I have made many pot roast and this recipe is truly the very best. I did not have white wite or vermouth so I added beef broth.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is THE easiest, best tasting pot roast I have ever made. My family devours it every time I make it. Never seem to have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day-Nut!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good recipe, but the vermouth left a rather bad aftertaste and an unpleasant aroma when combined with the onion and mushroom soup. I may try it again with a red cooking wine. My roast using this recipe came out very tender using a 2 pound bottom round. Cooked it only 2 hours (I would add a note for reduced cooking time with smaller cuts). Added carrots and small white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States