Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delish gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
So good. Cook low and slow for a tender, fall apart roast. I had a beef/pork combo roast and this worked great. I didn't have vermouth and used vodka....yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is fantastic. I usually buy cheaper cuts of meat to save money. This turned my sometimes pretty tough roast very juicy and tender. I used beef stock in place of the wine or vermouth as I had none and it turned out awesome. Even my somewhat picky 4 year old ate all his. I added potatoes, carrots and onions for the last hour or so. Yum. Will make this again and try it with white wine. :) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was good. The dry vermouth gave a nice sweetened taste and complemented the onion soup and COM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
LOVE this is delicious, I think this is the first time I am told "wow babe! this is better than my moms!" :) yay!!! it was really tasty and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe!! Simple good food. My husband and 22 year old son grin and salivate over this like puppies! I love that it cooks away and I can get some things done and the house smells so good. Here is what I do. Brown the meat as directed in dutch oven (use olive oil, usually), use a sirloin roast, I use the wine to deglaze the pain. I mix a cup of low sodium beef both with the soup and a full envelope of the onion soup and pour over the roast and mix with the deglazed wine still in the pan. Cook for 2 3/4 hours, add potatoes, carrots and celery cut in large chunks and a 3 more cups of low low sodium beef broth and cook in oven for another 1 1/2 hours. I seem to need the extra broth for liquid both for the meat and the veggies. The result is a tender meat and great flavor in the meat, veggies and gravy. My husband sops up the gravy with bread and smiles. There is no need to try another potroast recipe. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I thought it was delicious but I had to alter it a bit. I found the roast was ready after 2 hours. Also I had to double the gravy since there didn't seem to be enough for our family...but then again our family loves gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Loved this recipe! Forgot to put the roast in the oven and had to be creative so I cooked it in a pressure cooker. Increased the liquid to 1 cup white wine and 1/2 cup water and didn't dredge in flour. I also added chunks of potatoes and carrots. I let it cook for 20 minutes and cooled down the pressure cooker under running water, took out the veggies and turned it back on. Total cooking time was 50 minutes. I took the roast out and heated the liquid to boiling and added flour mixed with water and whisked well for a delicious gravy. The flavor was amazing! Next time I will cook it in the oven like the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was delicious. I cooked it in a slow oven for 5 hours. I ommitted the vermouth and used beef stock. Also added garlic to the flour mixture. Served it with potatoe pancakes for a Chanukah meal. Evryuone loved it. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe is SO GOOD! I have made it several times with wonderful results. If you have time, let the whole thing sit in the fridge for 1-2 days before serving to let the flavors really meld together. If you add hearty vegetables in the last hour of cooking, it is a complete meal in itself, but it is also fabulous served with rice or crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creme Brulee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States