Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this last night. My crockpot cracked after 10 years! It was the best roast I have ever made in the oven. Normally I have to use the crockpot because I dry them out in the oven. I made one change though I didn't use the packet of onion soup mix. I made my own with onion flakes, onion powder, a little organic better than bouillon beef base, garlic, parsley, and fresh ground pepper. The bouillon has a lot of sodium but you can control it by how much you use. I added a mushroom soup box to the mix which made a thick paste. Then I added red wine to the roast to deglaze and water to my spice mix to get the texture I wanted. Outstanding! I also added red potatoes, carrots, and onions in the last hour. Steamed some green beans with garlic and olive oil. Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Did not have to change a thing and my husband wants it every night. Comes out moist and full of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
OK, This was seriously amazing! The 'sauce' is what makes this pot roast stand apart from all the others I have made the last 20 years of my trial and error cooking adventures. the only thing I would do different the next time I make this (and I will be making this again and again) is that I will triple the sauce. Aside from that, this was the best pot roast we have ever had and by far the best I have ever made. My hubby and kids (picky eaters, ages 14, 8 and 6) absolutely loved it and wanted more 'gravy' but we were scraping the bowl clean (read to mean 'LICKING' the plates, lol) I made no changes at all, aside from adding new potatoes, carrots and a sliced onion the last hour of cooking time. The only thing I will change for next time is that I will double or triple the sauce recipe. I will probably be coming up with different ways to add this sauce to other meat recipes. It tasted amazing over roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Easy with great taste! Substituted red-wine vinegar for the vermouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I tried this in the slow cooker (8-hr setting). I added potatoes, celery, and carrots, plus water to cover the meat about 2/3 of the way up. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Outstanding and super easy! Based on personal taste and using items I had on hand, thus there were some substitutions. I added dried parsley to the flour mixture. The first big change was the onion soup mix. Inspired by a previous reviewer who used aus jus mix, I used pork gravy mix. My husband doesn't care for recipes with onion soup mix, I think the pork gravy mix is the best dry soup mix McCormick makes and it's what I had in the house. Not wanting to lose flavor, I cut up a med to large onion and added it to the pot. I subbed beef broth for the vermouth and added more than the recipe called for because of personal taste, probably a good 1 cup. I poured the wet mix on top of the beef, then added my peeled and cut potatoes and carrots. The house smelled terrific the whole time cooking. The taste is great, love the one pot dinner, it's easy and a crowd pleaser. I'm looking forward to leftovers this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New England Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The BEST Pot Roast I've ever tasted!!! I can't believe how easy and GOOD this recipe is. I will never use a crockpot to cook a roast again. I made just a couple modifications to the recipe. I didn't use white wine or vermouth. I used 1/2 cup of water instead. I also used mushroom & onion dry soup mix. Unbelievable flavor!! Thanks so much for sharing:-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is a very simple and wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is scrumptious! I've made this three times now, each time using a different type of roast depending on what was on sale, and it is always heavenly! The vermouth makes this taste more sophisticated and richer than the typical roast. Naturally, I modify the recipe slightly: I add some garlic powder to the flour for dredging & browning; And, I double the 'sauce' by using 2 cans of mushroom soup, a cup of vermouth and the entire packet of onion soup mix - It's nice to have the extra sauce to put over egg noodles, etc. to create a kind of stroganoff with the left-overs. I also chop up a container of white button mushrooms and put it in with the roast. This is simply the best pot roast ever!! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Hearty meal that yields leftovers that are equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States