Oven Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I was amazed at how delicious this was. I was a little skeptical because of the strong Vermouth, but after baking it added the perfect flavor. I add 4 springs of rosemary to it and it's absolutely perfect. I gave some leftovers to a friend and she said she absolutely loved it! I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Outstanding! I used golden mushroom soup instead of mushroom and red wine instead of the vermouth. And I cooked it for 5 hours at 275, adding cut up potatoes and carrots the last two hours. The gravy was thick and tasty and the meat was very tender! Probably the best pot roast I've ever made! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was hands-down the best Pot Roast recipe I've found. I used a rump roast which turned out so perfectly tender and favorable. The gravy from the pot was the best addition to an already delicious meat. I wouldn't change a thing and I'll be cooking it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Easiest, tender and tasty recipe for Pot Roast. I use the onion soup mix recipe from mamakittyto3 on this site. My husband has celiac disease so I use gluten free all purpose flour, gluten free cream of mushroom soup mix and GF beef bouillion in the onion soup mix. I sub either chardonnay or dry sherry for the vermouth and as others have noted, I usually throw in an extra 1/2 cup along with another tsp. of beef bouillion or an extra 1/2 cup of beef stock if I have it on hand. I also add celery, carrots, onion and potatoes immediately and have had no consistency problem. I've done it a 325 for 3 hours or 275 for 5 hours and don't notice a difference. A nice gravy results and it's always been a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My family loved this delicious pot roast! It was juicy and melt in your mouth tender! It was simple to prepare and the whole house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. This is definitely my favorite roast recipe. I made it exactly like the instructions. I will never make pot roast in a slow cooker again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lowery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alexgrrl
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Absolutely love the sauce for this recipe! I used Merlot instead of vermouth, which worked out really nicely. I added carrots, potatoes and onions in for the last hour and 15 mins and this caused me to need to add some beef stock for more liquid but it came out great. Next time I'll be using this same recipe in the crock pot though because the roast just wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't have the condensed soup or vermouth so I just used two cups of beef broth instead. It was still amazing. We couldn't stop eating. My husband went to put barbeque sauce on his piece of roast (he's not a big roast fan) but my daughter made him try it without the sauce first. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kramer Geyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was wonderful! My guests were late and I left this in the oven at 300 degrees for an extra 2 hours! No problem! Lots of gravy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Oh SO delicious! I've been making pot roast for years, but had never used cream of mushroom soup before. This recipe caught my eye, and wow, I'm so glad I tried it. The cream of mushroom soup thickened the gravy and geve it a wonderful richness. I don't think I will now ever make pot roast again without the mushroom soup! I'm sure the recipe would be wonderful as written, but since I'd already bought vegetables and red wine which I'd planned to use before I discovered this recipe, I modified the recipe slightly as follows: 1) I seasoned the chuck roast with salt, pepper and garlic powder 2) I dredged the meat in flour. 3) I seared the meat over medium high heat in my dutch oven. 4) I took the meat out, and then browned a bunch of large chopped carrots, onions, celery and red potatoes. 5) I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of red wine. 6) then I whisked in the can of mushroom soup, the packet of onion soup, and about 2 cups of beef broth, and stirred it until the sauce was smooth. I tossed in a few rosemary sprigs and a few bay leaves. 7) Put the meat and the vegetable back in the pot. 8) I cooked this about 1 hour at 325, and then lowered the heat to 250 and cooked for another 4 hours or so. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Family loved this! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States