Oven Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
When I was cutting this up for my kids this morning, it seemed to be a custardy, french-toast kind of pancake. I used lowfat buttermilk, half whole wheat and Splenda. I didn't use all the butter called for, just a couple tablespoons was sufficient. I think if I'd used more, it would have been swimming in fat. I spooned Supreme Strawberry Topping over the top (also made with Splenda) and a little bit of FF whipped topping. My kids flipped for it. I again was a rockstar mom. And it literally took minutes this morning. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These have become a staple at my house. We have doubled, tripled and quadripled the recipe - the only thing to watch is that you really beat those eggs. We have nick-named these Papa's hat because when done in a round dish, it resembles a sombrero. We usually skip the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhorn, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simply amazing! It doesn't get easier than this. I did almost everything "wrong" and still got perfect results. I don't have a cast iron skillet. I baked my in a large round ceramic baking dish. I didn't warm the ingredients first. I finished the batter before the oven was ready so it sat for several minutes. It still came out perfect. The presentation is beautiful. It looks like you have been slaving away. My mother absolutely loves the "dutch baby" from the Original Pancake House. This is a total knock off. It was awesome to be able to make this for her over the holidays. She said she liked mine even better than the restaurants. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I added 1/2 tsp salt and 2 tbsp sugar to the batter, then sprinkled the cinnamon sugar over top. It was great with honey, and hubby said it tasted like french toast and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This tastes very much like french toast without the bread. It was delicious with honey drizzled over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Sooo easy and quite delicious! Only change I would make is to cut back on the butter to 1/4 cup. Thanks for a great pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good I added a little bit of vanilla. I would use a lot less butter (it came out almost dripping) but overall quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Essentially these are flavored popovers, they're quite tasty but as other reviewers have mentioned, these do not taste like a traditional Pancake. Infact, they really shouldnt be called Pancakes at all, considering the name itself means that you are making a cake in a stovetop pan. All and all a nice mulitpurpose baked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is easy to make and tastes great. It's what my boys ask for, for their birthday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was really good! I think the butter called for is a tad to much. Next time I will probably scale back to 1/4 C. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and about 2 TBL of brown sugar to the bottom of the pan with the butter. I then added the batter and it was yummy! I love the added flavor the brown sugar gave! My 2 little girls loved it! My husband thought it was ok. He was not thrilled at the custard texture but he said he would eat it again. Overall great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States