Oven Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a very good recipe. However, there are a few things that people don't understand about puffed oven pancakes. They don't really taste a lot like griddle pancakes. They have a more eggy texture and flavor, so if you don't like eggs, don't try this recipe. One suggestion, this recipes calls for too much butter. I only added two tbs. and I baked it in a glass pan. This allowed the pancake to get crispy on the top and bottom. More butter can be added after it is baked (if desired).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow, this is great! My husband said this is definately a keeper. I agree :) I used only 3 eggs, thinking it was going to taste too eggy, but it didn't next time I will use 4. I also added 2 tsp of vanilla extract and 2 TBS of brown sugar. Very scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This is a european style oven pancake most often referred to as a German style oven pancake (basically it is a big thick crepe. My whole family loves this one and there are a couple pick eaters in the mix. I have made several of this type in the past and what makes this simple recipe the best is the cinnamon. Top it with whatever you like. Anything from pancake syrup to berries. Very easy prep, even kids can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love how people say, "Well, this recipe wasn't the best..." and then proceed to list all the things they changed until the recipe wasn't even recognizable as the original. Sigh. THIS WAS AWESOME! Kids wanted pancakes this morning but we have 7 of them and it takes ALL morning to cook enough for all. This is the PERFECT solution! They all LOVED it and it was so quick and easy! Thanks for posting - it's a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynee`

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I wasn't blown away by these, but my diabetic husband loved it. I used splenda & my homemade pumpkin pie spice. A lot less butter. Whole Wheat instead of AP and I added in about 2 heaping T of both ground flax & wheat germ. Didn't use the confectioners sugar. Topped it with strawberries, sugar free syrup & pan toasted pecans. He loved it & was thinking of other fruit combos to eat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Delicious, rich oven pancakes that taste like non-sweetened custard. The second time I made these I doubled the sugar so they could be eaten on thier own with no syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was fun to make and really easy. I think a touch of salt added to the batter would be just the thing to bring out all the flavour and make it 5 stars. After blending up the batter and putting it in the pre-heated pan, I blended up some wild blueberries with maple syrup and a bit of sugar, and then warmed that up for a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLA84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
super good pancake, I have made oven pancakes before but this was much better. The pancake here was a little thicker (custard like)which was nice for a change. I added 1tsp of cinn. just because i like it, also added ? about 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
My husband adores german pancakes, andhe loved this recipe. I hate eggs and I really liked it, too. It was more like a bread pudding, next time I will probably split it between two cake pans and see how that turns out. I preferred it with some vanilla, and then sprinkled liberally with lemon juice and powdered sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made it twice already and everone loved it. I used borwn sugar, added vanilla, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States