Oven Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very good! I had 2# ground veal (on sale) so I used that, and scaled the serving sizes up. I made as directed except used only 3 T brown sugar instead of white sugar, as several others suggested. I probably could have left out the salt too but it was fine as is. Served with rice - very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Looked this up on a whim and had it ready in an hour. Was really happy with it! Was easy to put together and tasted pretty good too. Sauce was a bit runnier than I expected but was still quite good over rice. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made these with 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground sausage. I had to sub flour for cornstarch, used 2 tbsp of brown sugar in place of white sugar. The flavor was great. My only issue was there was not enough sauce. I think next time I will double the sauce. I will surely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was a pretty good basic recipe, however I did change a few things. I used 1 lb ground beef, 1 lb ground turkey, added 1 cup seasoned bread crumbs, 1 envelope of onion soup mix, & a bit of rosemary. I made 12 large meatballs that fit in a 13x9 baking pan, I did not brown these in a skillet but rather put them in the oven for 12 minutes to brown up before adding the sauce. For the sauce I also changed a few things to taste 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1 tbls apple cider vinegar, and only 1 tbls soy sauce, the rest of the ingredients stayed the same. All in all excellent..and I'll certainly make them again. Even though I made my own changes to the recipe I still feel it justified the 4 stars because it's simple and gives you basics to tweak it to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Oh My Yumminess!!!! AND, when my family of five all loves it, it's a keeper for sure! I wanted to lick my plate!!! Thankful for nights when I need to find a recipe that matches my ingredients in the pantry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Good once I added ginger and honey. Substituted brown sugar for white sugar, and tomato juice for 1/2 of the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I added honey and brown sugar. red wine vinegar. bbq sauce with the ketchup. and some Tabasco sauce turned out great. make lots of extra sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Excellent recipe. As mentioned by several people, it was very sweet, but we liked it just fine. I made these meatballs and sauce for myself and my son - and just the sauce over Morning Star veggie meatballs for my vegetarian man and he liked it as well. Sauce thickened well, served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States