Oven Meatball Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very Good! Used 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of water for the tomato juice. Left out the pearled onions. Baked for 15 min longer. Turned out great. Only made changes in ingredients because didn't have them on hand. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sriemer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borup, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed the meatballs in this recipe though I thought the sauce was a touch plain, maybe a bit of garlic and oregano would help. Next time I make it I will also reduce the milk to 1/4 cup as the extra moisture in the mix made it hard to form into meatballs. Still a very good base recipe to play with and my boyfriend liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED! My husband and family asked if I could make this again very soon! The meatballs stayed intact no problem and the flavors were amazing. Will need to add an extra 15 minutes cooking time for my oven as the potatoes and carrots weren't fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love this, DH likes it (he's not a fan of meatballs tho) the meatballs have great flavor, the 'sauce' needs a little more flavor though but definitely worth working with. I think I'll add celery next time too, and maybe a little celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed the directions on this to a T and nobody in my family liked it. The meatballs were bland as was the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Quite delicious! Didn't have tomato juice but improvised with a cup of tomato sauce and 1 1/2 cup of beef broth and a 1/2 tbsp of mustard. Very good for Oktober!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is a great stew! This recipe is a good example of a perfect comfort food. The flavor is good, but for someone that prefers spicy food, you may want to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amys.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I didn't change a thing and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this dish for my fiance and I an a few guests. we were both unsure about an oven stew... an meatballs?.. but before I even threw it in the oven I knew we would love it. Problem was that it was so good we didn't save any for our guests! I will definitely keep this recipe in the front of my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this was VERY tasty - the tomato base was deliciously tangy. i found that the meatballs were falling apart alot when i browned them but (likely for the same reason) they were super tender. think this would be remedied simply by browning them in the oven rather than trying to stir them around in the pot. didn't have tomato juice on hand so used the same measurement and substituted tomato soup. very yummy. eliminated the chopped peppers and onions from the meatballs because of the kids, but added large chunks of green peppers and onions to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States