Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Although I am not an authority on Hawaiian cooking, I must say this pork is delicious. It is very tender and shreds so easily. I skipped over this recipe several times afraid that it would not be flavorful due to the minimal amount of ingredients, but my entire family loved it! I served it with BBQ sauce and teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I recently made this for a party, and it was a HUGE hit. I've been waiting for months to try a Kalua pork recipe, having visited Hawaii and had real Kalua pork. This recipe is delicious and perfect for a crowd or party - as it makes a lot of food with minimal effort! I did make modifications based on other reviewers suggestions, and have prepared this two different ways. This recipe is best in the oven, NOT a slow cooker - the oven method was much more tender and flavorful. I did make modifications, which I think added tothe recipe. My modifications were as follows: 3 T. minced garlic, 1 T. minced ginger AND increased the Liquid Smoke to 2 T. The additional Liquid Smoke really makes this recipe pop! I will definitely be making this again and again! Several people asked for the recipe. I've tried this both ways - once wrapped with tinfoil (the BEST!) and once wrapped with banana leaves. Both were very, very good. You can't go wrong with this one with the modifications. Be SURE to use Hawaiian Sea Salt... it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for a Luau for my boyfriend this summer and it was a HUGE HIT!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We added a whole clove of crushed garlic and about the same amount of grated fresh ginger to the liquid smoke, mixed it up, then rubbed it into the scored pork butt. We also laid out the foil then layered corn husks on top, placed the rest of the marinade onto the husks and wrapped the entire thing in corn husks (as they were to hand) on the top and bottom before completely sealing with foil. We cooked it as above. Note: When cooking more than one, it still only takes five hours cooking time if wrapped individually - I am a novice so we found that out the hard way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought we were going to run out this was such a huge hit at my daughter's graduation party! And I way over bought the recommened pounds per person! I followed the recipe, but added about 1-2 tablespoons fresh ginger and about 2-3 tablespoons minced garlic. Also, instead of the oven I used a crockpot and started it partially frozen on high for 5-6 hours. Then I turned it to low for another 4-6 hours and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
i did the recipe 3 different ways one because i cant have much salt so i did it with just liquid smoke and a little salt next i did one the exact recipe and than i did one the same way except i wrapped it in a banana leaf and i have to say the one with the leave was so tender and fell off the bone. the others were good but the one wrapped was great i recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Shannon Doucet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used this recipe because I liked the idea that it is cooked in the oven. I also used the advice of the review that said to add ginger and garlic, so I added both, but I used ginger powder because I didn't have any fresh and I also added a sprinkling of brown sugar...MMMMMM it was sooooo good!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
What an easy and great recipe! I cooked up 3 five pound pork roasts for a large group of people. The roast was tender and fell apart. I served the pork on Kaiser rolls with Oriental-Sesame cole slaw from this site. I also made up a batch of mango barbeque sauce to go with. The leftovers are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I served this on top of the Soft Onion Rolls from this site and some coleslaw. It felt like a summer barbecue retreat in the midst of a cold winter day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Every time I serve this dish I am asked for the recipe! I've had it several times while visiting Hawaii and this recipe is just as good if not better. I also love that it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States