Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Being half Filipino, we make alot of these kinds of foods. Mine are more on the Polynesian type. My mother was taught this way too. I use a slow cooker and cook it all day long. It is awesome!Dont forget the garlic, I add onions too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti
Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Kids enjoyed it with BBQ sauce, Cam and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This stuff is great! I even forgot to put the salt on it before baking and it was still great. I did sprinkle a little more liquid smoke on the meat when it was shredded right before serving. We all loved this... even my 2 and 5 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidiw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Came out okay, but not super flavorful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I cooked it as the recipe stated. Maybe my oven runs hot (it is a new oven) but mine was done in only 2 hours. Had I let it cook the full 5 hours, it would have been burnt. It was also not really "shreddable," I ended up just chopping it. I add barbecue sauce because I think it's kind of bland otherwise. It comes out tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DALLASLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Although I am not an authority on Hawaiian cooking, I must say this pork is delicious. It is very tender and shreds so easily. I skipped over this recipe several times afraid that it would not be flavorful due to the minimal amount of ingredients, but my entire family loved it! I served it with BBQ sauce and teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I recently made this for a party, and it was a HUGE hit. I've been waiting for months to try a Kalua pork recipe, having visited Hawaii and had real Kalua pork. This recipe is delicious and perfect for a crowd or party - as it makes a lot of food with minimal effort! I did make modifications based on other reviewers suggestions, and have prepared this two different ways. This recipe is best in the oven, NOT a slow cooker - the oven method was much more tender and flavorful. I did make modifications, which I think added tothe recipe. My modifications were as follows: 3 T. minced garlic, 1 T. minced ginger AND increased the Liquid Smoke to 2 T. The additional Liquid Smoke really makes this recipe pop! I will definitely be making this again and again! Several people asked for the recipe. I've tried this both ways - once wrapped with tinfoil (the BEST!) and once wrapped with banana leaves. Both were very, very good. You can't go wrong with this one with the modifications. Be SURE to use Hawaiian Sea Salt... it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for a Luau for my boyfriend this summer and it was a HUGE HIT!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We added a whole clove of crushed garlic and about the same amount of grated fresh ginger to the liquid smoke, mixed it up, then rubbed it into the scored pork butt. We also laid out the foil then layered corn husks on top, placed the rest of the marinade onto the husks and wrapped the entire thing in corn husks (as they were to hand) on the top and bottom before completely sealing with foil. We cooked it as above. Note: When cooking more than one, it still only takes five hours cooking time if wrapped individually - I am a novice so we found that out the hard way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeraly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought we were going to run out this was such a huge hit at my daughter's graduation party! And I way over bought the recommened pounds per person! I followed the recipe, but added about 1-2 tablespoons fresh ginger and about 2-3 tablespoons minced garlic. Also, instead of the oven I used a crockpot and started it partially frozen on high for 5-6 hours. Then I turned it to low for another 4-6 hours and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States