Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! The meat turns out so moist and has incredible flavor. The first time I made this I followed the directions as stated and it was really good! The second time I didn't measure out the liquid smoke or salt; I just rubbed the liquid smoke and salt all over the roast and it also turned out great!! I use this recipe a lot now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the only way I cook my kalua up here in the states. Pork, cooking in its own juice instead of water. No need to measure....Just slap liquid smoke around the meat, then salt, and follow direction. Tip: for best flavor, insert slices of fresh garlic around the roast. Dont even need to check temperature. Bake in 400 degree for first hour, then 350 for another 3-4 hrs. depending on size. Bring it out of oven and check the old fashion way.....open, see, and feel....If its tender and almost falling apart.....its ready. If not, throw it back in. However, if you want that greasy, roasted, underground flavor....here's the secret: "sesame oil" ohhhyeaaaaaaah!! Save all the liquid in foil. You should have alot of liquid, if not, then its overcooked. Dont know why people add water instead of using real thing. In baking pan, combine shredded pork & liquid from foil, drizzle few drops of sesame oil, add more salt if needed, black pepper as needed. Mix well and heat in 350 oven, covered, for 30-40 mins. or till thorouly heated thru. For big parties, I would refrigerate in ziploc bags after mixing, then continue with last step the next day. Throw some chopped green onions for flavoring & color. Good with baked sweet potatoes. Its "ONO"LICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this for a Luau Bridal Shower yesterday. I added the 2T of liquid smoke like other reviewers. People kept asking what restaurant we order the pork from. lol . It was that impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaking527

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is fantastic! I have made this three times now! My guests can't get enough! I had to order the Hawaiian sea salt online and was glad that I did because it really changed the flavor. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Delicious with no changes at all, but we missed a certain depth of flavor. With slight tweaks, though, it was exactly like the kalua pork we lived on when visiting Hilo: rub pork roast with 1 tablespoon minced ginger in addition to Hawaiian salt and liquid smoke, wrap in foil, place in baking pan and *let sit 24 hours* in the fridge before baking. An added benefit, prepared this way, it didn't need the last tablespoon of salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I LOVE this recipe...throw it in the oven around noon time and dinner is on the table at 5!! Serve with coleslaw.....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I did this recipe a few years back for a luau and everyone of my guests was looking for the hole in the ground with the leaves and all that stuff. When I told them how I made it they were shocked. It tasted authentic. I have been hooked on it ever since. Very, Very good A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayechell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy. I made this recipe with 2 1/2 lbs of pork and it cooked in 3 hours. I also used Red Sea Salt that I had left over from making the Kalua Pig recipe a while back, otherwise I didn't change the recipe, it was perfect. It has such a great flavor that you don't even need any bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is the basic recipe but a few changes will make a big difference for a more authentic result: 1. Use more Hawaiian salt. Two and a half Tbsp is not enough. It seems like a lot but it is not; 2. If you can get it, use the Alai salt (red clay salt). Remember, NOT to use table salt!; and 3. Line the foil pan with ti leaves. Not tea, but ti leaves. Use the liquid smoke. Then, wrap with foil. When you shred it, be sure to let it soak in the juices. You can use this same recipe to make pork fillings for tacos and bbq sandwiches, too. Of course, if you're from Hawaii as I am, eat with poi and lomi salmon! Onolicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I've made this several times, my family loves it! I'm now making it for a meal exchange I have with some neighbors. Such a cheap cut of pork you can't help but be generous. Easy to modify to your own taste as far as some of the additional seasonings go. And while you can bake it in a crock pot, it sorta changes the flavor and texture a bit. I happen to have lots of the Hawaiian red clay salt - which is out of this world for this recipe. If you don't have the ono salt be sure to use a large granule type salt. I like to pile it on top really thick and then remove it before I shred it - give the "illusion" of a healthier dish. I also recommend wrapping at least two layers of foil around the pork - I think it makes all the difference in the tenderness. (another reason the crock pot does not do quite as good a job - but still tasty) ALSO - the cooked meat freezes well too! Be sure to freeze it with some of the extra juices for when you reheat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Reish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States