Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe calls for the meat to be cooked to fast. I use the same ingredients, however I bake mine at 200 degress for 12 hours. After you have shredded it and are ready to serve, if the meat has dried out a little, just add some water that has been salted with the Hawaiian salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This version has the most authentic taste to traditional kalua pork. You can use kosher salt, just not salt with iodine. If available, wrapping the seasoned pork in ti leaves before baking also enhances the "out of the imu" flavor too. Because it's an easy dish, I make it for often for large parties. Tastes good in tacos too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chop Suey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I really liked this one. I did do some of the changes that Iadonna suggested. I rubbed the roast with the salt and crushed garlic and ginger. I was thrilled with the way it shredded so easily. My Hawaii-going friends were suitably impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIXLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Pretty good flavor. I didn't have Hawaiian sea salt and this could have been the difference. I felt like the pork needed more flavor. Possibly more liquid smoke?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Only use half the salt [sea salt, Hawaiian salt, or red clay can be purchased at 99 Ranch Market if there's one in your area], cooked in the oven for about 3 hrs & it was ready. Also tried it in crock pot for 6-7 hours. Crock pot retains more of the juice and did not heat up the house. Added the ginger, garlic and onions as some reviewers suggested - gave it more flavor. Reducing the salt made it much easier to eat and you did not have to keep drinking water. Would definitely make this again - so easy - Prefer using the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Absolutely delicious. So much easier than smoking and tasted equally as yummy. I cooked mine longer only because of my schedule - probably closer to 7 hours, but it didn't hurt the taste or tenderness a bit. Served on Hawaiian rolls with a little bbq sauce. Already can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This recipe is amazing!! The meat turns out so moist and has incredible flavor. The first time I made this I followed the directions as stated and it was really good! The second time I didn't measure out the liquid smoke or salt; I just rubbed the liquid smoke and salt all over the roast and it also turned out great!! I use this recipe a lot now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the only way I cook my kalua up here in the states. Pork, cooking in its own juice instead of water. No need to measure....Just slap liquid smoke around the meat, then salt, and follow direction. Tip: for best flavor, insert slices of fresh garlic around the roast. Dont even need to check temperature. Bake in 400 degree for first hour, then 350 for another 3-4 hrs. depending on size. Bring it out of oven and check the old fashion way.....open, see, and feel....If its tender and almost falling apart.....its ready. If not, throw it back in. However, if you want that greasy, roasted, underground flavor....here's the secret: "sesame oil" ohhhyeaaaaaaah!! Save all the liquid in foil. You should have alot of liquid, if not, then its overcooked. Dont know why people add water instead of using real thing. In baking pan, combine shredded pork & liquid from foil, drizzle few drops of sesame oil, add more salt if needed, black pepper as needed. Mix well and heat in 350 oven, covered, for 30-40 mins. or till thorouly heated thru. For big parties, I would refrigerate in ziploc bags after mixing, then continue with last step the next day. Throw some chopped green onions for flavoring & color. Good with baked sweet potatoes. Its "ONO"LICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this for a Luau Bridal Shower yesterday. I added the 2T of liquid smoke like other reviewers. People kept asking what restaurant we order the pork from. lol . It was that impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaking527

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is fantastic! I have made this three times now! My guests can't get enough! I had to order the Hawaiian sea salt online and was glad that I did because it really changed the flavor. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States