Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I salt and pepper the pork, put it on the grill and brown all sides then put it in the pan with water to get the smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe was so easy!! I seasoned the same but put 3 whole bananas (unpeeled) on top of the pork butt then wrapped the butt in foil. I cooked the butt in a counter top roaster at 300 degrees for 8 hours. Discarded the bananas and After shredding the pork I added a little bbq sauce and worchesershire sauce. I made 2 of these for 58 ppl and served with Hawaiian rolls. I had NOTHING left!! What a hit. I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Came out great! easy to make and tastes authentic! made it twice so far yum! I didn't have hawaiian sea salt because it is hard to find around my area, so i just used regular sea salt and still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have made this recipe several times now, and it always comes out so tasty. There is minimal work involved, but the results are so amazing. I tend to (at least) double the amount of liquid smoke to suit my own taste. At one point, Trader Joe's carried an excellent black sea salt that I thought had the best flavor for this recipe, but I haven't been able to find it for a while. I've tried other Hawaiian sea salts, though, and they've all worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
From Hawaii 2 born and raised living in Las Vegas now! So ONO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilliebean197872

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This recipe was fairly close to the one from "Tradewinds and Coconuts," page 142. by Jennifer Brennan. I have made Brennan's version numerous times, and it is hands down, the best I have ever tasted,and much more authentic tasting. By using the greenery with it, it brings to it, the taste of the Swiss Chard and spinach...AND you may eat them as well. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Milton Keller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Oh, my word! I have been craving kalua pork for years! If only I had known it was this easy to make!!! This recipe is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Hubby made this to take to a friend's Hawaiian-themed birthday party. It was exceptional! He didn't measure the liquid smoke or salt. When it was done cooking it shredded easily. I added salt and kept in fridge until dinner time. He heated it and served it on Hawaiian sweet rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
THis is a pretty good recipe... the only thing that is missing is the banana leaf that it should be wrapped in. most asian food markets sell it (mine has it in the frozen foods section) and it's super cheap. For on shoulder or butt i use 2 leafs or so. No foil is needed. The Kalua comes ou perfect every time. The banana leaf adds that "kalua" flavor! The only other change i make is turning it down to 300 degrees F and leaving it for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Born and raised in the Islands and in the NW for 35 years, I rate this recipe OK. The authentic Hawaiian style combines garlic powder and Hawaiian salt to rub any meat used (pork, chicken, beef). The pan is lined with foil, then layered with banana leaves (frozen at Asian markets) which have been washed. The meat is placed on the leaves, liquid smoke sprinkled over top and then wrapped well. Leaves, then foil tightly enclosed. Couple cups of water at the bottom of the pan. Slow roast for hours, check water only. Only open foil near end to check doneness. Serve with sweet potato, poi, rice, long rice and/or poki, pineapple, haupia. We start roasting at 9pm and leave until 9am at 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States