Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I tried this and liked it very much. Did my own twists based on some of the reviews listed. Definitely used a bit more salt and bit more smoke. Mine turned out the tastiest I have ever made. Tastes just as close to Keneke's in Waimanalo. Someone mentioned in a review they were looking for a greasier version like they have in Hawaii. Someone else mentioned sesame seed oil created that effect. I did not have the oil, or any oil on hand. Used Pam spray butter (gasp) as it was all I had) and it gave me the exact taste I was looking for. Recipe: 4 pound pork butt red hawaiian salt...as much as you feel without over salting liquid smoke...as much as you feel without over doing it Take a knife and poke as many holes in the raw meat on all sides as possible. Rub with a good deal of the salt. Rub with a good deal of the liquid smoke. Spray meat all over with the Spam spray butter and wrap perfectly tight. 45 min i read on another review per pound. so i did 3 hours at 325 degrees, pulled it out,cool, shredded it in all those juices and then baked in the juices in a pan covered in tinfoil at 275 for 30-45 mins. Juicy, just right amount of grease without being gross and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved this! Mine turned out a little dry, not sure why, but totally hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I salt and pepper the pork, put it on the grill and brown all sides then put it in the pan with water to get the smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This recipe was so easy!! I seasoned the same but put 3 whole bananas (unpeeled) on top of the pork butt then wrapped the butt in foil. I cooked the butt in a counter top roaster at 300 degrees for 8 hours. Discarded the bananas and After shredding the pork I added a little bbq sauce and worchesershire sauce. I made 2 of these for 58 ppl and served with Hawaiian rolls. I had NOTHING left!! What a hit. I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Came out great! easy to make and tastes authentic! made it twice so far yum! I didn't have hawaiian sea salt because it is hard to find around my area, so i just used regular sea salt and still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have made this recipe several times now, and it always comes out so tasty. There is minimal work involved, but the results are so amazing. I tend to (at least) double the amount of liquid smoke to suit my own taste. At one point, Trader Joe's carried an excellent black sea salt that I thought had the best flavor for this recipe, but I haven't been able to find it for a while. I've tried other Hawaiian sea salts, though, and they've all worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
From Hawaii 2 born and raised living in Las Vegas now! So ONO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilliebean197872

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This recipe was fairly close to the one from "Tradewinds and Coconuts," page 142. by Jennifer Brennan. I have made Brennan's version numerous times, and it is hands down, the best I have ever tasted,and much more authentic tasting. By using the greenery with it, it brings to it, the taste of the Swiss Chard and spinach...AND you may eat them as well. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Milton Keller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Oh, my word! I have been craving kalua pork for years! If only I had known it was this easy to make!!! This recipe is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Hubby made this to take to a friend's Hawaiian-themed birthday party. It was exceptional! He didn't measure the liquid smoke or salt. When it was done cooking it shredded easily. I added salt and kept in fridge until dinner time. He heated it and served it on Hawaiian sweet rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States