Oven Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
i make this in the crock pot. i use 2 tablespoons of liquid smoke, and cover the pork with unpeeled bananas. also, i piece the meat with a fork/knife before i rub the salt/ smoke into it. cook it covered on low for 12 hours. yummy! i live in southern california, so i try to find ways not to put on the oven for long periods of time. so versatile. makes great carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It is easier though longer to use a crockpot to do this. Use the same pork roast, cover it with liquid smoke and rub in some Hawaiian red salt. Place in crockpot with 1/2 water, splash of liquid smoke and sprinkle in more Hawaiian salt. Cook on LOW for 10-12 hours. I start the night before I go to bed, let it cook all day, then turn crockpot to warm setting until dinner. The only bad thing is I don't have any poi to eat it with. A pot of rice does OK. This method totally replicates a hole in the ground, known as an imu in Hawaiian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Would love to try this the way "cinnamonGramma" made it because I lived in Hawaii for 6+ years and remember the taste. Also, have tried for 30 years to get my hands on the coconut pie recipe that was made by the Waikiki Pharmacy way back and could never get it. Any help? Thanks, cookiecutter@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Okay....just a little confused...got excited when I saw this recipe, due to the name. Was thinking it used Kahlua in the ingredients... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Great pork. I placed a banana (peel and all) in with the pork since in the islands it is usually wrapped in a banana leaf and it added to the Kaula taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
this is a very easy recipe. Several others have mentioned wrapping in banana leaves. Cannot find them near my home, but you can take 4 bananas (for a 5 lb roast), place then on top and wrap tightly in foil. Imparts a great, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Hi to get more fat use a pork shoulder it has the skin on it cheaper even .the butt roast is the leaner part of the pigs shoulder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew McPherson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Great technique for cooking a boston butt. I used liquid smoke and sesame oil but I would use much more next time as the flavors didn't come through as much as I would like (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I tried this and liked it very much. Did my own twists based on some of the reviews listed. Definitely used a bit more salt and bit more smoke. Mine turned out the tastiest I have ever made. Tastes just as close to Keneke's in Waimanalo. Someone mentioned in a review they were looking for a greasier version like they have in Hawaii. Someone else mentioned sesame seed oil created that effect. I did not have the oil, or any oil on hand. Used Pam spray butter (gasp) as it was all I had) and it gave me the exact taste I was looking for. Recipe: 4 pound pork butt red hawaiian salt...as much as you feel without over salting liquid smoke...as much as you feel without over doing it Take a knife and poke as many holes in the raw meat on all sides as possible. Rub with a good deal of the salt. Rub with a good deal of the liquid smoke. Spray meat all over with the Spam spray butter and wrap perfectly tight. 45 min i read on another review per pound. so i did 3 hours at 325 degrees, pulled it out,cool, shredded it in all those juices and then baked in the juices in a pan covered in tinfoil at 275 for 30-45 mins. Juicy, just right amount of grease without being gross and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved this! Mine turned out a little dry, not sure why, but totally hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States