Oven Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Thank you this was soooooo good I will be making this as long as okra is in season. LOve,Love,Love Okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We love this recipe and have it quite often. I lightly coat the okra with olive oil before placing in the bag -- I like this better than the cooking spray. Also use seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. I have also used this recipe with fresh okra, but you have to cook it in the microwave for about 5 minutes to get it gooey enough to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Really liked it, good alternative to fried okra, much less guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great snack, and I felt guilt free eating the last few okra of the season from my grandma's garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This just didn't work for me. I usually like anything okra, but maybe I'm just too used to real fried okra to enjoy this. As I was eating it, I wished I had just heated up the frozen okra and eaten it plane. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
awesome! my husband and i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Such a tasty, healthy way to prepare okra. I also make this without the cornmeal and bread crumbs. Just a light coat of olive oil, salt and pepper is good. My family prefers this recipe, however. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi all...I'm the submitter of this recipe. This recipe works best with CUT okra. It is a little gooey/wet after microwaving and though you drain it on paper towels, it is still a little damp which helps the cornmeal/panko mixture stick. I hope this helps. Happy Eatting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Pretty good. I used chopped okra. I melted a little bit of butter on the okra after it microwaved (I don't use cooking spray), and I had no problem with the crumbs sticking. The crumbs could use more seasoning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I really do like okra, but I had such a problem with the panko crumbs sticking to these with just the non-stick spray that they had me wanting to pull my hair out! I'm giving this a 2 star review because my okra hating husband said that I managed to get the slime out of them. I think if I were to attempt making these again, I would roll them in flour, then dip in an egg-wash and then roll in straight cornmeal. In my opinion, it was a waste of my panko crumbs. Thank you for submitting the recipe, I really did want to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States