Oven Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used Stillwells frozen breaded okra. I put olive oil on the pan and I cooked it at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and turned it over part way through. It turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We love this recipe and have it quite often. I lightly coat the okra with olive oil before placing in the bag -- I like this better than the cooking spray. Also use seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. I have also used this recipe with fresh okra, but you have to cook it in the microwave for about 5 minutes to get it gooey enough to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Really liked it, good alternative to fried okra, much less guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great snack, and I felt guilt free eating the last few okra of the season from my grandma's garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This just didn't work for me. I usually like anything okra, but maybe I'm just too used to real fried okra to enjoy this. As I was eating it, I wished I had just heated up the frozen okra and eaten it plane. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
awesome! my husband and i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Such a tasty, healthy way to prepare okra. I also make this without the cornmeal and bread crumbs. Just a light coat of olive oil, salt and pepper is good. My family prefers this recipe, however. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi all...I'm the submitter of this recipe. This recipe works best with CUT okra. It is a little gooey/wet after microwaving and though you drain it on paper towels, it is still a little damp which helps the cornmeal/panko mixture stick. I hope this helps. Happy Eatting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Pretty good. I used chopped okra. I melted a little bit of butter on the okra after it microwaved (I don't use cooking spray), and I had no problem with the crumbs sticking. The crumbs could use more seasoning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I really do like okra, but I had such a problem with the panko crumbs sticking to these with just the non-stick spray that they had me wanting to pull my hair out! I'm giving this a 2 star review because my okra hating husband said that I managed to get the slime out of them. I think if I were to attempt making these again, I would roll them in flour, then dip in an egg-wash and then roll in straight cornmeal. In my opinion, it was a waste of my panko crumbs. Thank you for submitting the recipe, I really did want to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States