Oven-Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Minus the nuts this was a hit with my husband and grandkids. I did add more salt on top the coating and baked them on a rack. Juicy and crispy, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethanne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I've made this recipe multiple times, beginning with exactly the way it's written and then tweaking the spices to look for the "best mix." Tonight I made it as written except that I substituted Old Bay seasoning for the paprika, and instead of a full cup of baking mix I used 2/3 baking mix and 1/3 panko breadcrumbs for the coating. Very tasty. I've always used skinless boneless chicken breasts with this recipe and maybe that's why I don't get that crispiness. Still, a nice meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Soooooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe and thought it turned out very good...my suggestions would be to chop the nuts a little finer than just chopped. If they're too big they won't stay on the chicken. Secondly, cook on a rack. I just baked mine on a foil lined baking sheet that had a rack laying across it and it wasn't soggy at all. My chicken was a little larger at a little over 4lbs. and I cooked for 1 hour and 10 mins and it turned out perfect. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Excellent. I substituted low-fat evaporated milk and baking mix to cut calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Tasty and easy recipe. I just used bisquick instead of a buttermilk coating and it's plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Best, most moist chicken we ever had!! Made two slight substitutions, but it worked well. Instead of evaporated milk, I used sour cream thinned with a bit of regular milk. Walnuts in place of pecans. Made four large bone-in breasts with skin -- baked @ 350 for an hour, then browned them at 425 for about 5 min. I took another's advice and sprayed the top of the coated chicken with Canola spray. I rarely use oil spray for anything, so this was going out on a limb, but I'm here to say this was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
great recipe. I left out the pecans, and I think it was very tasty. I added garlic powder, dry ranch mix, and salt and pepper to the baking mix. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katejames

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was really good. My son made this for dinner. He added more paprika, some garlic powder and onion powder. Also used buttermilk instead of evaporated milk. Soaked the chicken in buttermilk for about 30 minutes. Baked these on cooling racks so it would crisp all over. Very easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1/4 cup almond flour instead of pecans, and added garlic powder and a little extra salt. I also cooked my chicken on a rack in the pan and used canola oil cooking spray instead of the butter. The results were crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Oven-Fried Chicken

Pump up the flavor with this delicious, healthier oven-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States