Oven Fried Chicken IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Great recipe! The second time I made this, I used skinless drumsticks, lowfat sour cream and a seasoned bread crumb coating instead of corn flakes. This is about as low fat as I can or want to get when I cook! The family had no idea it was a "lower fat" fried chicken! Make sure you season the sour cream (salt, soy sauce, pepper, herbs, whatever you like). Using warming racks to cook the chicken on really helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I may have added a bit more garlic powder and a bit of paprika to the cornflakes, but otherwise I followed this recipe to a T. FABULOUS. It was crispy all over as I baked it on oven rack which I had greased (and put a cookie sheet under it to catch the drippings. My new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Wow, this was the best oven fried I've had! I did alter the recipe by thinning the sour cream with buttermilk and seasoning with the same spice as the coating. I used skinless breasts. What makes this recipe great is you get a thick and crunchy coating that TASTES fried! Thanks for sharing--this is how I'll do ckicken from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Wow! This was the best chicken I may have ever made. As a single mom, I'm always looking for fast, healthy recipies. This was so easy to follow, and my son just LOVED it! I used skinless boneless chicken breasts, because that's all I had, but other then that, I did exactly what the recipe said. I'll deffinetly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This chicken was excellent. My family really enjoyed it. I didn't have any cereal to use for the coating, so I used a combination of crushed crackers and homemade breadcrumbs. It turned out great. Next time I will add the full amount of garlic - I cut it a bit becuase it seemed like to much, but it needed the garlic. I thinned the sour cream with a little milk, which made it coat more evenly. I think the sour cream is the key to this chicken, and that whatever breading and seasoning you prefer to use will be fine. I was amazed at how juicy the meat was and how crispy the outside got. The cooling rack idea worked so well. I would recommend skinning the chicken - I skinned a few pieces and then got lazy and left the rest on, and I didn't think the skin added much (except fat.) I used various chicken parts and all came out great - I'm always on the look out for recipes that work well with the less expensive cuts of chicken, and this was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This recipe was a hit!! However, I used different spices. I used fat-free sour cream and seasoned it with seasonings like garlic powder, salt, pepper and Paprika. I didn't have any sage or Rosemary. I didn't have cornflakes so I used breadcrumbs and I seasoned them with Italian seasoning. I also didn't have any minced garlic. The sour cream covered the chicken very heavily and so this made the final result a nice thick coating. I did use the cooling rack and it worked out fine. No coating fell off during cooking. It was delicious! I can't believe it wasn't fried! My family will love to have this a part of their regular meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! My family loved it. I didn't have the rosemary, but it came out great anyway. I added the garlic and some soy sauce to the sour cream. I lightly salted the chicken parts prior to coating. My family loved it! I've never cooked with cornflakes before. This was an excellent experiment, which I will use frequently. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This chicken tasted great..even better than fried! My boyfriend had seconds, then an hour after we ate he made a chicken sandwich, so I know he liked it too. It was really moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I can't believe how fabulous this chicken turned out. I loved it and will make it again and again. Simple and yummy is the best combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This is probably the yummiest chichen I have ever had! I love that the fat content is minimal. My family loved it. Even my 2 children, who are extreamly picky eaters asked for seconds. Thanks for sharing your recipe Chelsey!!! This will become one of our "regulars"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States