Oven Fried Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
YUMMO!! (As Rachael would say!!) The only thing I changed was the mayo before the bread crym mixture......the mayo didn't appeal to me (seemed too thick and gloppy) so i made a mix of half mayo and half milk whisked together. I dipped the chicken into that first and then into the bread crumbs. My husband said it was better than fried, and he is PICKY about his chicken. The chicken was extremely moist and I was pleasantly surprised. My kids LOVED it and I will definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Really good. I used what I had on hand. I crushed ritz crackers for the crumbs I used the spices in the recipe and added a dash on cayanne for a little kick. I also thinned the mayo a bit like others did I used some Hidden Valley light Ranch dressing (I used lite mayo). I made this with a jumbo pack of thighs that I skinned and there were only three left. I served it with biscuits and country gravy. Yum! Edit: I forgot to state that I cooked the chicken on a large cookie cooling rack that was placed on a baking sheet pan. This allows the hot air to get to the bottom of the chicken and you wont get soggy bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1000 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This is a delicious recipe but I made a few changes the second time that made it better. Instead of breadcrumbs, I used Panko breading which in can get in Asian food markets quite easily. Panko is usually used for tempura coating and gives the chicken a better taste and crunch. The thyme was also too strong so I used some poultry seasoning and Old Bay seasoning to add some spice. Also, the cooking temp. was better at 375 degrees, which cooked the chicken quicker and left it more moist. I usually like skin-on, but with the mayo coating, leaving the skin on made it a bit too greasy so the second time I took all the skin off and it tasted great. Don't overdo the mayo coating or it could get to greasy or make the bread coating soggy in some spots. My toddler and husband loved it. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
840 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was a great recipe. I did make changes though. I used chicken breasts instead, followed other reviewers to use less mayo and add milk, also floured beforehand. When I was getting ready to put this in the oven, I saw on the back of the bread crumb package a recipe similar to this and it stated to cook at 425 degrees for 40 minutes, so I cooked the chicken at 400 degrees for 20 minutes per side and it was very crispy and the chicken was so moist and tender, almost falling apart. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
OH MY GOD!!! I read mayonaise and thought "That's crazy", then I read some of the positive reviews regarding the mayo and thought those people were crazy too but hey, I AM CRAZY!!! What a wonderful recipe. My only substitutions due to not having them around were soda crackers crushed up instead of bread crumbs and miracle whip instead of mayonaise. 1/2 a cup of mayo is definately enough. Juicy, tender chicken (even the white meat!) with a great flavor. I absolutely LOVED this recipe. We had guests over for supper and all I kept hearing from him and my husband was "Mmmm, this is really good." Words are not enough, good-bye shake'n bake, hello oven fried chicken... this will definately become a regular in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great recipe if you're looking for "fried" chicken without all the fat! I used a pound of boneless chicken breasts for this recipe and it turned out really good. I added a little cornmeal to the bread crumb mix as well as a bit of onion powder. No matter what mix of spices you use it's all a matter of personal taste. Whenever I do regular fried chicken I always use buttermilk, so to coat the chicken I used 1/2 cup of Hellman's lite mayo and thinned that out with buttermilk. I dipped that and then the chicken into the bread crumb mixture vs. shaking it in a bag. I let it set until the coating became a little "pasty" in nature. I sprayed the bottom of a baking dish with Pam so nothing would stick. I baked it for 25 minutes then turned it and baked it for the remainder of the time. I would advise against turning it any more than that or the coating will come off. This turned out very moist and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This was oh so yummy! My husband HATES fried chicken but he adored this simple recipe. I cooked 6 drumsticks (skin on, of course!) and I needed to adjust the cooking times and temps as follows: 350 for 45 minutes, then raise to 375 for 15 minutes. I believe this is what also made them come out crispy as well. So moist, just like they said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Years ago I tasted an oven-fried chicken made with a mayo coating - and I've been searching ever since for this recipe! And here it is! I made it with chicken tenders, crushed garlic croutons for crumbs - and I baked it at 425 degrees, turning the tenders after 15 minutes, and baking them for an additional 10 minutes. WONDERFUL - and thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Very easy and tasty. However, 1C was too much mayonnaise - next time I will start with 1/2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
need to raise oven temp. to 375 for 1hr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Chicken Fried Chicken

Have the kids help you make this tasty fried chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States