Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The first two times I followed this recipe, the chicken tasted a little too greasy for us. I decided to give it one last try and substituted 1/2 cup butter for the oil. I also add a little milk to the beaten egg. It turned out delicious this time. We'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
904 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I make it with chicken drumsticks instead of thighs and the only change I make is spraying the pan with Pam instead of oil. We've tried this recipe several times and they are ALWAYS cooked in the alloted time and are ALWAYS moist and yummy. We even fight over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
726 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Easy, no-fuss fried chicken. The first batch I made was delicious and the family raved about it. I used baggies for the breading for easy cleanup. I also let the breading "rest" for fifteen minutes before putting the chicken in the oven, so the coating stayed on well and turned out nice and crisp. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
589 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This recipe was really easy, and very good considering it was baked. I had too much chicken to put in one pan so I decided to do a little test and pan fry the rest of it the traditional way. The oven fried was better overall; it required less "work" because you only had to flip it once and didn't have to "watch" it and oil didn't pop out and burn me (as usual). I think the key to keeping the coating on is making sure you pat dry the chicken first, coat well with the flour, shaking off the excess, quickly drudging it though the egg, which I added about 4 tablespoons of standard hot sauce to my egg mixture just to give it a little kick, and then really roll it around in the bread crumbs to get a nice even coat. I added lemmon pepper seasoning after the chicken was in the pan right before it went into the oven and it really was delish. Will do this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
A nice recipe for "Fried" Chicken, it was crisp, delecious, great flavor, and the only thing I changed was using Pam instead of the half cup of olive oil. You don't need a lot of it, just a light spray. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eddington, Maine, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I find this easy - use a large freezer bag for the flour (and salt and pepper), shake and remove the floured chicken and re-use same bag for the bread crumb coating (why use two bags?). I also left the coated chicken in the fridge for a while before placing into the glass roasting pan with the oil already heated. The finished coating is similar in texture to original recipe KFC, which is to my liking (chewy-crispy) but can easily be made more crispy by cranking the heat up for the last 5 min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
My grandma used to make us boneless chicken breast "patties" to take on vacation-- we ate then cold out of the cooler or hot when we got there. It would take her all day to pound, bread and fry this juicy familiar family favorite. I have not had chicken like that since she passed away... that is, until now! This chicken tasted very very similar to hers, with half the work. I used boneless, skinnless chicken thighs (b/c that is what I had), and only about 1/2 cup oil. My only advice is that you don't overcrowd the pan- maybe that is why some people's took forever. The chicken has to have space between the pieces for oil and air to move or they will turn soggy. I had my pan too full and realized it in time to separate into two before any problems arose. Overall, great, easy, tasty and not greasy, if you go easy on the oil and blot on towels afterward. Loved it!!! Thanks. Grandma lives on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a good recipe and healthier than pan fried chicken. I followed the recipe exactly as given. A suggestion, however, after coating the chicken, I placed the pieces on a wire rack, refrigerated it for about a half hour and proceeded with the baking. The coating adheres better if it is on for a while before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This is a tasty recipe. I agree with the previous posts that you will need two 9 by 13 pans so that the chicken has room around each piece for better cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
This is great chicken! Easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States