Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe was awful. Nobody in my family liked it. I did use wing sections. Thought it was going to be great. Tasted blah and tough. Never agian. Of course I did use pam instead of oil so maybe that was my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Excellent! I only sprayed baking sheet with Pam and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Maybe it's just a matter of taste since other people liked this recipe, but no one in our family liked it at all. I cooked it according to directions except that I used chicken drumsticks and I used butter instead of oil. It took longer to cook than 60 minutes, maybe because of the drumsticks. We found it to be too greasy, and the flavor was very blah. I didn't even bother saving the leftovers since no one wanted any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is my favorite way of doing fried chicken now. It comes out nicely crisp with just a small amount of oil. Leftovers were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
[5/13/12] pretty greasy but good. used 1/2 cup butter instead of oil. added white pepper. needed more salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made 10 pieces (breasts, legs, wings), ran a little short on bread crumbs but the flour amount was plenty. Added salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder and the paprika to the flour. Used half oil, half butter, which I heated while the chicken was resting after being coated. Cooking time and temp was right on, though I did let the breasts go an additional 10 mins since they were bigger than the other pieces. BF gave it 4 stars I give it 3.5, only because I found the bread crumbs to be meh, flavor-wise. Mine did crisp up nicely though, oh, maybe because I gave the tops a quick spray before they went into the oven. Overall, a good meal, I'd just like a different flavor in the coating. Will use this method again and experiment with the seasoning/breading. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Wow. When I followed the advice of reviewers in augmenting this recipe the results were awful. I'll give it 3 stars because I didn't follow the original recipe exactly. I added panko crumbs to my bread crumbs (wouldn't do that again), substituted PAM for the oil in the dish, added a splash of milk to the eggs, and baked for 30 minutes on 350 degrees, then 30 minutes on 375 degrees. The coating didn't crisp up much and looked visually unappealing. The meat was done, but tough and difficult to remove from the bone. My boyfriend and I made a competition of this, and he deep-fried regularly two of the drumsticks to compare. His were light-years better and what fried chicken should be! This oven-fried attempt didn't stand up in any way. In the past I've used the Oven Fry (Kraft brand?) box sold at the store and like it. But won't be trying any variation of this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Made this as per the recipe and really liked it. I used panko breadcrumbs and seasoned it myself. I also put the pan in the oven to heat the oil then placed the thighs skin side down for the first 30 minutes. I turned them skin up for the last 30 turning up the heat to 375 for 10 minuites. Crispy - not greasy. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Added hot sauce to eggs and simply sprinkled chicken seasoning and cayenne on the skinless thighs before flouring, then followed instructions. As suggested by several other reviewers, did not use the oil; sprayed foil-lined pan with PAM and then sprayed the chicken with it too when placed on the foil. Crispy yet tender with a great coating.Thanks, Cookie240, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States