Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used 2 large chicken breasts sliced thin to make 4 halves. Seasoned the flour with onion and garlic powder and italian season. I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked the chicken with oil in the bottom of the pan at 350 for 30 min turning every 15 min. Then turning the heat up to 375 for remaining 30 min, turning every 15 min. This really did help it get the true fried chicken crispiness you want from this recipe. Let the chicken rest on paper towels for 10 min. Served with mashed taters and steamed peas and what an excellent dinner! Chicken came out absolutely perfect without the mess of actually having to fry the chicken. Will definitley be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
The chicken was delicious!!! I used skinless breast and corn flakes finely chopped instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
The challenge with any oven fried recipe is to end up with a crispy exterior. In order to do so, I used a 3-prong approach. First, I used panko crumbs which tend to contribute crunch. Then, I opted to use convection baking which distributes the heat evenly. The first half of cooking time I held to the 350 degrees, and upped it to 375 for the latter half. And third, I flipped the chicken every 10 minutes. The reason oven fried products are difficult to crisp up is that at any given time, one side is down, meaning the down side is steaming somewhat from resting in its juices. By flipping several times, you maximize the time each side is exposed to the dry heat, thereby creating the greatest opportunity to lose the moisture that renders your breading soggy and unappealing.The chicken meat was juicy and meltingly tender. I added spices to the panko, including sage, marjoram, thyme and a whisper of cayenne. Hands down the best oven fried chicken recipe I ever had. BTW, not to worry if you don't have a convection oven. It's not a deal breaker. You can accomplish good results just by flipping more often. As by now you can tell I had to make significant changes to the directions in order to improve the results, so that loses a point. But 4 stars for the basic concept, ingredients, and prep procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
It's how you make chicken schnitzel but without the frying in oil. Always a bonus not to have to fry in oil! I use an Italian breadcrumb mix that has Parmesan in it. Yummayyy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe today. It was delicious, crispy, and juicy, will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Regina Robinson
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Yes it's good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
We really loved this chicken. I didn't use that much oil and I played around with the recipe a bit using buttermilk instead of eggs and playing around with the breading ingredients but I liked this method with the oil a lot. I make a lot of oven fried chicken and this was really good. I did have a mix of drumsticks and thighs and the drumsticks seemed to work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I liked that this recipe was easy to make and didn't need a lot of ingredients. I read all the helpful reviews and modified my recipe. I used chicken drumsticks, cooking spray, parchment paper and panko Italian breadcrumbs instead. I cooked the drumsticks exactly according to the recipe. I think because I sprayed the chicken with Pam and used panko breadcrumbs, it resulted in a very crispy coating without the greasiness. Will go in the regular menu rotation! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was delicious! I added creole seasoning to the flour and Mrs. Dash and salt to the egg, I also didn't measure the oil, instead I just coated the bottom of each pan... If I had to guess I'd say I used closer to 1/3 cup of oil. Family loved it and I loved the ease of it. This recipe was definitely an instant hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Just made this. My whole family loved it. Used Panko instead of seasoned bread crumbs since I was serving it with seasoned rice. A bit greasy for me so I may reduce the oil next time. But there is going yo be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States