Oven Fried Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I make this at least once a month. I raise the oven temperature to 375 and lower the cooking time a bit. This seems to give a better crisp to the coating without overcooking. Some comments say it's greasy, but if you drain on paper towels as the recipe suggests, and let it "rest" for a few minutes, it's perfect. I guess you could use Pam, but without the oil in the pan, you don't get that awesome "fried chicken" coating. I have used milk mixed with the eggs (only because I was low on eggs) and I don't notice any difference in taste at all. I've also tried it with boneless chicken but you cannot bake it long enough to get that crispy coating without killing the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I seasoning my flour with 1 tsp. garlic and 1 tsp. onion powders 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning & 1 tsp. of parsley. Then season the chicken with salt and pepper directly. Panko Bread Crumbs is used for that added crunch. the chicken come out very flavorful and it smells so good cooking. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
MAde this Saturday for the kids and grand kids. OF COURSE!! No ritz crackers, no bread crumbs. I substituted a combination of Sunshine Wheat saltine crackers, cheddar/ pretzel crackers and plain panko. I had to double the dry ingredients and stretch the eggs with milk for 12 large chicken legs. I patted the legs dry. I used gallon zip bags for the dry ingredients. I added Old BAy seasoning with salt & pepper in the flour and Everglades to the last toss. I followed the baking directions & everyone came out brown and delicious. Everyone was happy with the oven fried legs. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I didn't find the breading stuck to the chicken as well as I would have liked. It never crisped up the way I had hoped it would. The meat was pleasantly moist and tender, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Appointment much easier and better tasting than pan frying!! I add some vanilla flavored coffee creamer to my eggs for a hint of sweetness. I also remove the skin first so the chicken gets crispier. This is officially my one and only fried chicken recipe. I sometimes add some grated parmesan to the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the best chicken recipe I ever made. I substituted the 12 chicken thighs with 12 cuts of chicken breasts equal to their weight, and this is perfect for anyone who eats chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Tiver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. I made it for about 15 people one night using thighs & breasts, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Was an ok recipe, till I read the amount of oil in the bottom of the pan. Seasoned and breaded almost to the recipe, but with more spices. Then I cover the bottom of a high lipped sheet pan with oil (just barely), put a baking rack in the pan, spray with Pam, then place the chicken on the rack. Baked at 350', flip after 20 minutes, maybe 20 minutes (I bake by smell) later,turn off the oven, flip again - but leave in until all side dishes are done. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I onlu use egg whites to dip. Then I drizzle butter over it lightly after seasoning it with Garlic, Salt , pepper , light papkrika and a little oregano. Bake at 400 until crispy and juices run clear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States