Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
First catfish fillet I've eaten the whole thing of! Husband was shocked to see me eat the whole fillet! Usually I can handle only 2 bites of any catfish, no matter how it's cooked. I shocked myself on this one! It's a record!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best catfish recipe ever! Used panko for half of the corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
My family loved this! My pickiest eater said it was "awesome"! I made nuggets instead of fillets. If you do this I recommend doubling the breading. This recipe is a keeper, will definitely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Simple and delicious! I picked up some catfish yesterday and planned to bake it with lemon and butter. I found this recipe and decided to try it to change things up. Wow! Husband and kids liked it; it was super-easy to make. I didn't have celery seed, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Crunchy and yet low in calories. Flavor of the spices minus the salt was perfect. Certainly one of my favorites. My husband only likes breaded fish and this satisfied his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The recipe was overall good but I felt that the cornmeal made the fish taste dry in my mouth. I will make it again and maybe put some butter on top of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was the recipe I chose to try. I've never cooked or eaten catfish that I recall, so when the Mister brought some home, I agreed to cook it. He ate two helpings and declared it great. I, however, discovered that I do not like catfish and I'm not particularly fond of the idea that the catfish had fins. (Yes, I know it's a fish but I'd rather not realize while preparing it that it was recently swimming.) I can't say this is a bad recipe, because I couldn't eat it. My husband loved it. I'd say that if you like catfish, this is how to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Used too much oil, try with less and broil at end if not crunchy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I know enough about cooking to know that I should choose my own seasonings to fit my taste and adjust cooking time to fit how well cooked I like my fish. I had very large fillets that took about 25 minutes to cook. The basic recipe is a great guide. For those who said the seasoning was off or their fish was not cooked after the time in the recipe should allow for that in their review. Cook error is always going to happen. But it is not because of the recipe per se but an inexperienced cook. Because my fish did not cook in the time in the recipe, I turned the oven down to 375 and cooked for an additional ten minutes. Not once but twice I had perfectly flavored fish that was cooked to MY liking. I also used cornmeal which I would use if I deep fried my fish, which is how I usually cook it. Just as crisp without all of the added absorbed oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Have tried this several times. So much like fried fish you don't ever want to go back to fried. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States