Oven French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I made these for the first time today for lunch. My wife and I loved them, I did make a few changes. I soak them a they said to but I just had them sitting on the counter, and every 20 mins gave them a stir. I also ground some black pepper onto them. I also left the skin on, and baked them closer to the top of the oven which got them done enough that them were crisp on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
i skipped the marinade part and just baked them on greased aluminum foil until they were brown like fries. dunked each one in ketchup. they were every bit as delicious as regular fries cooked in oil, but without the oil. i had already prepared the fries and heated the oven when i found this recipe. i was looking for a temperature setting. next time i might try the marinade. anyway, i give this recipe 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
If you cook these at 375 degrees they will come out greasy. Oven needs to be HOT to keep the oil on the surface and not absorbed by the potato - I cook mine at 450 and they are crisp on the outside and soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These didn't work for me & the family didn't care for them. They were limp and oily; maybe even undercooked at this time/temp. We like things spicy, so instead of just salt, I used my homemade no sodium Cajun Spice Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were very greasy and bland. Definately nothing special and not worth the extra time it takes to soak them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is my 1st try making home made fries.... YUM!! I had to use peanut oil as I'd just run out of olive oil. I also used fresh ground sea salt. As the recipe states to continue cooking until golden brown.. I cooked my fries for an additional 15 minutes, turning every 5 minutes to ensure that they did not burn. My boyfriend LOVED them and asked for more. These fries will be making a regular appearance on my dinner table. Thank you Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
For alternative french "fries" that don't require frying, I think these are great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These are easy and tasty - my daughter's 'home fry expert' friend thought they were the best she's ever had! Pretty high praise for an eight-year-old. I really like them too - I think there's a big difference with soaking them first - just be careful they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
A lot of extra work for nothing special. I didn't notice any difference after them soaking in the water/soy sauce/cornstarch mixture compared to other baked french frie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States