Oven Chicken Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Breaded chicken is always a hit with my husband and I've been making chicken fingers like this for years. I always use Italian style bread crumbs and give it a little more pizzaz by just eyeballing some extra seasonings to add like garlic powder, cracked black pepper, dried parsley, and Italian seasoning along with the grated Parmesan cheese. I always dip my chicken into an egg/milk mixture vs. using veg. oil then the seasoned bread crumbs and then repeat that procedure (double dipping). This gives the chicken a thick breading and keeps it moist while baking. To cut even more calories and prevent sticking I spray the bottom of a glass baking dish with Pam, place the breaded chicken in then spray the chicken with a little Pam, cook at 350 for 10 minutes, turn and cook for another 10-15 minutes. It'll come out moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Delicious! I, too, totally changed how I did these, based on suggestions, etc. I cooked them at 425 for about 12 min total, lined a cookie sheet w/foil, sprayed it with oil, and turned once half way thru. I used ritz crackers (crushed very fine) with blk pepper, garlic, onion and chili powders, and added some cumin. We got a "taco" taste that was VERY yummy. I dipped these in egg first, then the crumbs and drizzled some melted butter on top. They came out crispy on the outside, tender and juicy on the inside and the crumbs stuck really well. My 4-yr-old ate these faster than I've ever seen him eat anything before! I will DEFINITELY make these again and again. We used ranch and bbq sauce (hubby used Frank's red hot) because I didn't have the ingredients for the orange sauce, but will try that in the future. Thanks for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Great alternative to being fried. I used an egg instead of oil to decrese the amount of fat and came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These are so good, and so easy. I've made them several times. I spice my own bread crumbs and use salad dressing (your choice) instead of the oil. Leftovers are just as good. I frequently chop them up and add to salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe as an alternate to frying. I baked them for 25 minutes and then broiled for about 7 just to make the breading a litte crispy. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by outerspacey
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought this was a delicious dinner. My picky 3 year old and 19 mo both ate it. I had Ritz crackers and Italian seasoning on hand so I did that instead of the bread crumbs. I tried the honey mustard sauce, I don't think it really goes with the italian flavors. I will try the cranberry or something similar next time. I like mine crispy so I recommend making sure your pieces of chicken are thin to get them crispy if you prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was great! It was very easy and everyone loved it. I thought I'd have some left for a salad the next day, but they were gone! Even my picky 4 year old raved about them. The only change I made was that I used egg with a bit of water instead of the oil, as others had said. Very good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Yum! These were moist and tasty. No complaints from the little ones at dinner time, either! I did make two minor changes. One, I used egg beaters for dipping the strips into versus oil. That made it really low in fat and much more healthy. Two, I didn't see the need to pound them out, so I skipped that step. I would have liked for them to be a bit more crispy, though. And maybe a little more zing or flavor. I don't know if pounding them down or using the oil would have helped with the crispy factor. Some of the smaller pieces got a bit more crispy than the larger ones. I might experiment with mixing in a little bit of left over chip crumbs or something next time, and maybe some more seasonings too too. Course adding the chips might balance out the health factor of not using the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I omitted the vegetable oil, cheeses (lactose intolerant) and the sauces. I didn't have enough italian flavored bread crumbs so I crushed up some ritz crackers and used them as well. I dipped them in egg (put garlic powder, black pepper and onion powder in the egg mixture) then in the crumbs. They were crispy outside and moist inside (mine were done in 25 minutes). The kids LOVED them and ate twice what I thought they would. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I double dipped: breadcrumbs, egg, breadcrumbs. Dipping sauces were good. Neither needed cornstarch. I used cranraisins since that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States