Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Just tried this. I only used chicken broth and substituted water for the beef broth because I didn't have it. Used garlic powder instead of salt and 2T of olive oil instead of butter as someone else recommended. It was VERY good! My husband normally hates brown rice, but he said if I made it like this he would eat it all the time. Nice simple recipe, easy to add to if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Iborg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I usually don't write reviews but I have to say that the rice tasted great. This is my first time cooking brown rice in the oven. I made a few changes after reading several reviews. I used the following: 1 cup rice(rinsed), 1 cup low-sodium chicken broth, 1 pkg Lipton onion soup mix(combine with 2 cups hot water before adding), 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp unsalted butter. Stir ingredients well in the casserole dish, cover, and cook for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penney Sneed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted fantastic; however, I had to add more and more broth & butter. Next time I will double the broth & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
At 60 minutes the rice was still drowning in about a cup of too much liquid. Either it needed covered (which I thought I should do at first, but chose to follow directions instead)or it needed another 1/2 hour in the oven. But I had timed it to be ready with the rest of dinner so I ended up nuking it for about 13 minutes on high to finish the job. If I do this again, I will cover it and omit the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is based on my changes. After reading reviews I used low sodium beef broth, only 2 tbs butter (did not melt just threw it in the dish), 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt 1/2 tsp garlic powder. And this did take 90 mins to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Pretty good. You have to add your own seasonings according to taste. My rice came out fluffy & not dry at all, accurately cooked covered at 350 for 1 hour (appeared to be done in 50 minutes, but I let it cook an additional 6-10 min per required) Was concerned about rice being crunchy, but was not at all. Did not use any beef broth & increased the chicken broth by just a smidge. Used low sodium broth and didn't use any of the salts, but did use a little natural minced garlic in the jar. The butter that was used was unsalted, seasoned with black pepper, just a tad of Lipton onion soup mix and sprinkled with a seasoning called Spike. Served with baked cornish game hens stuffed with veggies. A definite must have!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Amazing and simple! Best brown rice ever!!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
good but salty, which can be easily fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveedawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Du Quoin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
So easy and so great tasting! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I didn't think this was tasty. Not only was it bland but it was way too creamy. Not how I like my rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States