Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted fantastic; however, I had to add more and more broth & butter. Next time I will double the broth & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
At 60 minutes the rice was still drowning in about a cup of too much liquid. Either it needed covered (which I thought I should do at first, but chose to follow directions instead)or it needed another 1/2 hour in the oven. But I had timed it to be ready with the rest of dinner so I ended up nuking it for about 13 minutes on high to finish the job. If I do this again, I will cover it and omit the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is based on my changes. After reading reviews I used low sodium beef broth, only 2 tbs butter (did not melt just threw it in the dish), 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp garlic salt 1/2 tsp garlic powder. And this did take 90 mins to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Pretty good. You have to add your own seasonings according to taste. My rice came out fluffy & not dry at all, accurately cooked covered at 350 for 1 hour (appeared to be done in 50 minutes, but I let it cook an additional 6-10 min per required) Was concerned about rice being crunchy, but was not at all. Did not use any beef broth & increased the chicken broth by just a smidge. Used low sodium broth and didn't use any of the salts, but did use a little natural minced garlic in the jar. The butter that was used was unsalted, seasoned with black pepper, just a tad of Lipton onion soup mix and sprinkled with a seasoning called Spike. Served with baked cornish game hens stuffed with veggies. A definite must have!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Amazing and simple! Best brown rice ever!!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
good but salty, which can be easily fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveedawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Du Quoin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
So easy and so great tasting! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I didn't think this was tasty. Not only was it bland but it was way too creamy. Not how I like my rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. Took over 90 minutes to cook it uncovered. The rest of dinner had to sit and wait. 730 dinner time was blown out of the water. Will try it again, but cook it COVERED and allow for the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was such a good side with my baked chicken!!!! And so easy too! The only change I would make next time is to put in garlic powder instead of garlic salt. The broth and seasoned salt makes it plenty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States