Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This recipe has been changed from the accidental white rice to the intended brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Usually when I make brown rice, even in the rice cooker, it always retains a crunchiness that I can't stand. This method, however, truly softened it up and made for an absolutely delicious sidedish! I actually omitted the butter - you don't need it. I instead added 1 and 1/2 cups of sliced mushrooms, and an extra cup of broth. It was moist and delicious. However, it took much longer than an hour to finish - at 350, it took closer to 2 hours. But perhaps my oven needs to be calibrated. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it often to prepare brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was really good! It tastes alot like rice-a-roni! I did forget to add the butter so i bet it will taste even better if I remember it next time! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
We LOVE this recipe, but it is very salty if made with CONDENSED beef broth. We just happen to like it that way and use it to offset more bland meat dishes. If you don't want it so salty, you need to dilute the broth. I also have to bake it longer than the hour...usually at least an hour and a half. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was so good. I fixed it exactly like the recipe only using low sodium broths and covering it. I stirred it up, popped it in the oven and went out running errands. Couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I used a store bought "Royal Blend Texmati premum rice mix" (mix of basmati, white, brown, wild and red rices). It turned out great and was very easy to make. I baked it a bit longer to allow all the liquids to cook out and also because I like "crispies"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Vítu Kozbiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great recipe. I bake covered for the first half of baking time, then uncover at the end. I often make a double batch and freeze some for later. I use garlic powder instead of salt to reduce salt content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luck, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. Those who've complained about salt must have used concentrated broth or base... it's not a salty recipe. I added shredded carrots, mushrooms, and in the last 5 min., a handful of frozen peas. It turned out wonderfully. I have received several compliments, and passed the recipe on many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This recipe worked only because of everyone's reviews. Added, chopped onion, carrots, celery. cut out all high salt broths, It did take longer then an hour and 10 minutes to cook. But it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
My family loved this. I baked it COVERED and took the lid off for the final 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States