Oven Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I have made this a few times and it is a big hit. I use all chicken broth, lots crushed fresh garlic, and no salt. I also cook it for 1 hour and 30 minutes. I am horrible at cooking any rice. I really wanted to find a way to switch to much healthier brown rice. This has completely replaced instant and white rice for us and is so easy to make. I love that I just put it in the oven and even I can not screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Great recipe! I read over all the other reviews and came up with the perfect combo: Use Low Sodium broths, this will eliminate the saltiness; Use garlic powder not garlic salt; Add 2 cut up green onions, 1 can of sliced mushrooms and 1 can of drained and rinsed chickpeas. I hope these suggestions make this even better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I always use brown rice, it is just so much better for you. And I always cook it in the oven, that way it comes out just right. I had been making my rice with slightly less liquid (about 1&3/4 cups)and I use water. Now that I've found this recipe I have adjusted my own recipe to include the stock. The one thing that I won't change about my recipe is to COOK IT COVERED. If you cook your rice COVERED it WILL be done in about one hour. And it WILL BE creamy and perfect like it is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This a easy way to cook rice. I used 1 cup each of chicken and beef broth also an extra cup of water. (I used brown basmati rice and ratios were 1cup rice to 3 cups liquid) I used garlic powder and omited the seasoned salt. I omited the butter. In 2 tablespoons of olive oil I sauted chopped onions, sliced mushrooms and added this along with dried parlsey to rice. I baked rice covered and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMOMOFTWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I broke my own cardinal rule with this recipe - I was in such a hurry while making it, I didn't read the reviews beforehand. Thankfully, I did read them while it was cooking - hence the high rating. I did give it 5 stars because it was rather tasty, although, after the recommended cooking time, my chicken was ready, my rice was still super watery. I popped it in the microwave for 8 minutes and that seemed to complete the cooking process. I was a bit salty (as others had mentioned) but not horribly so (the only change that I made was that I used Low Sodium Chicken Broth because it was the only thing in the house). In the future, I will allow the extra cooking time and I think that I will reduce the sodium by diluting the broth with water. Was interesting cooking rice in the oven - prior to this, I had only done it stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This rice is very good. Instead of butter I followed others advice and substitute olive oil. Also use garlic powder instead of salt and reduce the season salt to 1/8 tsp. I also saute mushrooms and chopped onion and add to the rice mixture, then bake. Turns out fantastic although mine does take 1 hour and 10 minutes, but that may be my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I subbed garlic powder for garlic salt and minced onion instead of seasoning salt, also used reduced sodium broths so this was not too salty for us. I also added some shredded carrot, I'm sure diced celery and bell peppers would be great but didn't have 'em on hand. Covered the pan with foil and it was done in an hour. Made this with Teriyaki Chicken from this site as they both had the same cooking time and temp. Great easy way to make flavorful brown rice - since I didn't have to prepare on the stove top, it gave me time to get on the treadmill while dinner cooked. Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Great rice side dish. I added some chopped carrots and used olive oil instead of the butter. Did not have chicken stock so I used beef base. Placed a lid on my 2 qt. casserole dish. The rice was cooked perfectly. This is a much better way to cook rice instead of on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Very easy to make! I used basmati rice but, I wouldn't call this a family favorite, needed some more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe is really great! I generally only cook for myself, so am always looking for recipes that freeze well in individual portions... this is definitely one of them!! (I use Ziploc bags.) I switched the amounts of the beef and chicken broths around (1 can beef broth, 1 cup chicken broth) because it was what I had on hand, and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. This made my house smell AMAZING while it was cooking - I couldn't hardly wait to try it!! It was worth the wait - very flavorful! I'm glad I followed the suggestion of covering with foil - I'm not sure if it would have come out quite as well if I cooked uncovered. This came out perfectly and it was SO easy!! :) (P.S. I've now made this several times and have even passed the recipe on...it's that good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States